Congratulations to the CAJ Awards finalists

    TORONTO, April 11 /CNW/ - The Canadian Association of Journalists is
pleased to announce the finalists for its annual awards for outstanding
investigative journalism in Canada for 2006.
    The winning entry in each category will receive a $1,000 cash prize. All
winners will be announced May 26, 2007 at the CAJ Awards Banquet being held at
the CAJ/Global Investigative Journalism Conference in Toronto, May 24-27,
    The Don McGillivray Award for the best 'overall' investigative report for
2006 will also be announced at the awards banquet.
    Please note that the media outlet listed is where the finalist worked at
the time their entry was broadcast/published or where the particular entry was

    The finalists in the OPEN NEWSPAPER/WIRE SERVICE (circulation (greater
than)25,000) category are:

    Shelley Page
    Falling Heroes
    Ottawa Citizen

    Stewart Bell, Adrian Humphreys, Graeme Hamilton
    Russian Spy
    National Post

    Jessica Leeder and Robert Cribb
    Road Unworthy
    The Toronto Star

    Steve Ladurantaye
    One Costly Crash
    The Kingston Whig-Standard

    Kevin Donovan and Jessica Leeder
    Addicts at Risk
    The Toronto Star

    The finalists in the COMMUNITY NEWSPAPER category (circulation under
25,000) are:

    Bruce Urquhart
    Councillors, ratepayers in the dark about city's pay-as-you go system.
    Woodstock Sentinel-Review

    Heather Rivers and Elliot Ferguson
    Changing Faith
    Woodstock Sentinel-Review

    Hugo Rodrigues
    Is the Province's risk management program dead?
    Woodstock Sentinel-Review

    Steve Bonspiel
    The classroom in crisis
    The Nation

    Steve Bonspiel
    Does the punishment fit the crime?
    The Nation

    The finalists in the OPEN TELEVISION (greater than 5 minutes) category

    Gilllian Findlay, Harvey Cashore, Linda Guerriero, Jim Holt
    Luck of the Draw
    CBC News - the fifth estate

    Harvey Cashore, Linden MacIntyre, Howard Goldenthal
    Money, Truth and Spin
    CBC News - the fifth estate

    Susan Teskey
    Toxic Legacy
    CBC Television

    Julian Sher
    Nuclear Jihad
    CBC Television

    John Kastner
    Monster in the Family
    CTV News

    The finalists in the OPEN TELEVISION (Less than 5 minutes) category are:

    Linden MacIntyre, Neil Docherty, Nazim Baksh
    The Mole
    CBC News - The National

    Conway Fraser, Joanne Levasseur, Adam Rickner
    Risky Drugs
    CBC News - Canada Now

    Steve Chao
    Life on the Run
    CTV News

    Kathy Tomlinson and Patti-Ann Finlay
    Manifold Gaskets, Manifold Problems

    Terry Milewski, Nazim Baksh, Leanne Hazon
    Terror Suspects Arrested, Pursuing Leads
    CBC News - The National

    The finalists in the OPEN RADIO NEWS/CURRENT AFFAIRS category are:

    Declan Hill and Dick Miller
    Speaking the Truth
    CBC Radio - The Current

    Bob Carty and Karen Levine
    The Body Bazaar
    CBC Radio -Sunday Edition

    Karen Pauls, Susanne Reber, Myke Clark, Lisa Hébert, Hugette Young
    Modern Day Slavery
    CBC News - Investigative Unit

    Kellie Hudson, Sandra Bartlett, Susanne Reber, Dick Miller, John Nichol
    Landslide - World Wide Net
    CBC News - Investigative Unit

    Josée Guérin
    Les Jeunes Accros a la marijuana
    Equipe d'enquête et d'affaires publiques, Radio-Canada - Ottawa

    The finalists in the REGIONAL TELEVISION category are:

    Robert Jones
    Reform Windfall
    CBC News - Saint John

    Jim Beatty
    Filthy Foster Homes
    CTV News - Vancouver

    Robert Jones
    The Arrest of Charles LeBlanc
    CBC News - Saint John

    Kelly Dehn
    Finding Erin
    CTV News- Winnipeg

    Geoff Leo
    Not So Safe House
    CBC News - Saskatchewan

    The finalists in the CAJ/CCNMatthews COMPUTER-ASSISTED REPORTING (CAR)
category are:

    Susanne Reber, David McKie, Phil Harbord, Bob Murphy, Jack Julian, Alison
    Myers, Frank Koller, Bilbo Poynter, Dick Miller, Rachel Gaulin, Tyana
    Grundig, Karina Roman, Lisa Hébert
    Dying for a Job
    CBC News - Investigative Unit

    Fred Vallance-Jones, Robert Cribb, Tamsin McMahon
    Collision Course
    The Hamilton Spectator, The Kitchener-Waterloo Record, The Toronto Star

    Robert Cribb and Jessica Leeder
    Road Unworthy
    The Toronto Star

    Kevin McGran and Andrew Bailey
    Tragedy on the Tracks
    The Toronto Star

    Laurie Monsebraaten and Joan Sweeney-Marsh
    Poll 37
    The Toronto Star

    The finalists in the PHOTOJOURNALISM category are:

    Louie Palu
    Afghanistan: Ghosts of War
    The Globe and Mail

    Julie Oliver
    The Insidious Fog and Falling Heroes
    The Ottawa Citizen

    Steve Russell
    Exodus from Lebanon
    The Toronto Star

    Larry Wong
    Photo Essay
    Edmonton Journal

    Bruce Edwards
    Soldier Paul
    Edmonton Journal

    The finalists in the MAGAZINE category are:

    Andrew Mitrovica
    Hear No Evil, Write No Lies
    The Walrus

    Jeremy Klaszus
    Big Oil on Trial
    Alberta Views

    Matt McClearn and Doug Watt
    When the Whistle Stops
    Canadian Business

    Jared Ferrie
    Some Say Terror Label Prolongs Sri Lanka War
    The Georgia Straight

    Susan McClelland
    The Unusual Suspects

    The finalists in the FAITH AND SPIRITUALITY category are:

    Robert Sibley
    Faith, Nihilism, and Wonder
    Ottawa Citizen

    Evan Solomon, Natasha Sweeney, Bryan Gardner
    Opus Dei
    CBC News: Sunday

    Kevin O'Keefe
    Evangelical Tourism
    Vision TV

    Thérèse Champagne and Denis Grenier
    La Route Des Temples
    Radio-Canada Television - British Columbia and Yukon

    Douglas Todd
    Divorce in a Jewish Court
    Vancouver Sun

    The finalists for the CAJ/CNW Student Award of Excellence are:

    Sarah Boothroyd
    This Old House
    Carleton University

    Kevin Kwok Wong
    Blinded by the Light
    University of Toronto

    Koraleen Jarvis and Alicia Asquith
    Winter in the Heartland, Death of the Family Farm

    Melanie Bidiuk
    Ontario's Bald Eagles Face New Pressure
    Loyalist College

    Diana Ginsberg
    Amethyst House
    Carleton University

    Congratulations to all our finalists. Your work has been outstanding and
we thank all of you for sending in your entries. The judges were particularly
impressed with the quality of the entries submitted for 2006.
    The CAJ Awards are judged by former journalists. Special thanks goes out
to all the award judges who spent countless hours going through the entries.

For further information:

For further information: John Dickins, CAJ executive director, (613)

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890