Congratulations to the CAJ Award winners!

OTTAWA, May 14 /CNW/ - The Canadian Association of Journalists, Canada's only national professional organization for reporters, editors, producers and photographers, announced the winners in its annual CAJ Awards for Investigative Journalism tonight at a gala dinner held in conjunction with the national conference.

The CAJ's top award for investigative journalism in Canada, the Don McGillivray Award for Investigative Journalism, was presented to Steve Buist of the Hamilton Spectator for the entry Code Red.

The CAJ awards are Canada's only recognition for the best in investigative journalism across the country. Thanks to all those who entered.

Tonight's other winners:

The winner in the OPEN NEWSPAPER category is:

Steve Buist
Code Red
The Hamilton Spectator

The winner in the COMMUNITY NEWSPAPER category is:

Steve Bonspiel
Mohawk Council Turns up Heat on Non-Natives
The Eastern Door

The winner in the OPEN TELEVISION (greater than 5 minutes) category is:

Marie Caloz
Out of Control & Behind the Wall
CBC News: the fifth estate

The winners in the OPEN TELEVISON (less than 5 minutes) category are:

Timothy Sawa, Angela Gilbert, Nicholas Stein, Diana Swain
Big Tobacco and Canadian Warning Labels
CBC News: The National

The winners in the REGIONAL TELEVISON category are:

John Lancaster and Nazim Baksh
Death in a Community
CBC News: Toronto

The winner in the OPEN RADIO NEWS/CURRENT AFFAIRS category is:

Scott Dippel
Power, Parties and the Paranoia at ENMAX
CBC Radio News - Calgary

The winners in the CAJ/Marketwire COMPUTER-ASSISTED REPORTING (CAR) category are:

Jeff Outhit and Cherri Greeno
Calls of Duty
The Record

The winner in the PHOTOJOURNALISM category is:

Joe Bryksa
No Running Water
Winnipeg Free Press 

The winner in the MAGAZINE category is:

Alex Roslin
The Meat of the Matter
The Georgia Straight

The winner in the FAITH AND SPIRITUALITY category is:

Maureen Matthews
Wihtigo: Cree Ideas About Cannibals
CBC Radio - Ideas

The winner in the SCOOP category is:

Bruce Cheadle and Jim Bronskill
The Pardon of Graham James
The Canadian Press

The winners in the DAILY EXCELLENCE category are:

Dave Seglins, Julie Crysler and David Millan
Commander to Convict: The Russell Williams Story
CBC News: The World at Six

The winner in the PRINT FEATURE category is:

Robert Cribb 
The Outsiders
Toronto Star


Aly Thomson, Jonathan Charlton, Geoff Davies, Casey Dorrell, Mike Gorman, Alan Hale, Kathleen Hunter, Jessica Ilse, Laura MacKenzie, Adam Miller, Jennifer Pawluk, Lesley Pike, Vincenzo Ravina, Lucy Scholey, Kyle Wells and James Whitehead
Terminal Disease
University of King's College Investigative Workshop

Congratulations to all our finalists. Your work has been outstanding and we thank you for entering.

The Canadian Association of Journalists is a professional organization with around 800 members across Canada. The CAJ's primary roles are public interest advocacy work and professional development for its members. 

SOURCE Canadian Association of Journalists

For further information:

Mary Agnes Welch, CAJ President, Work: (204) 697-7590 or Cell: (204) 470-8862
Hugo Rodrigues, CAJ Awards committee, Cell (519) 535-8680

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890