Community volunteers recognized by the Ontario Heritage Trust

    TORONTO, Feb. 6 /CNW/ - More than 150 volunteers from across the province
are being recognized through the Ontario Heritage Trust's 2007 Heritage
Community Recognition Program for their work to preserve, protect and promote
Ontario's heritage with special awards to be presented by The Honourable David
C. Onley, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario.
    "The dedication to the preservation of Ontario's heritage shown by these
remarkable individuals is truly commendable," said Mr. Onley.
    "By taking active volunteer roles these citizens have made significant
contributions to conserving built, cultural and natural heritage," said The
Honourable Lincoln M. Alexander, Chairman of the Ontario Heritage Trust. "We
are delighted to be working with communities to celebrate their achievements."
    Included among the program honourees for 2007 are 18 individuals who will
receive the Lieutenant Governor's Ontario Heritage Award for Lifetime
Achievement. This award recognizes individuals for sustained volunteer
contributions to community heritage over a period of 25 years or more. The
Lieutenant Governor will present the awards at Queen's Park on February 21,
2008, as part of the province's Heritage Week celebrations.
    "The work of these dedicated heritage volunteers benefits their local
areas and has a positive impact on the province as a whole," said Aileen
Carroll, Minister of Culture. "Heritage conservation enhances the cultural
experience in our communities and helps to make Ontario an interesting place
to live and explore."
    Since the annual Heritage Community Recognition Program was introduced in
1996, over 2,900 Ontarians have been honoured for local heritage preservation
activities. This program complements the Trust's Young Heritage Leaders
program, which recognizes volunteers under 18 for contributions to community
heritage conservation.

    The Ontario Heritage Trust is the province's lead heritage agency. The
Trust is dedicated to identifying, preserving, protecting and promoting
Ontario's built, cultural and natural heritage for the benefit of present and
future generations.

    For more information about the recipients or community presentation
events, please contact the office of the nominating municipal council,
regional council, First Nation band council or Métis community council. A list
of the nominating councils for this year's recipients is attached.

                         Aussi disponible en français

    2007 Heritage Community Recognition Program recipients were nominated by
    the following councils:

    -  Adjala-Tosorontio (Township of)
    -  Amherstberg (Town of)
    -  Aurora (Town of)
    -  Brantford (City of)
    -  Caledon (Town of)
    -  Central Elgin (Municipality of)
    -  East Garafraxa (Township of)
    -  Englehart (Town of)
    -  Erin (Town of)
    -  Georgina (Town of)
    -  Guelph (City of)
    -  Halton Hills (Town of)
    -  Hamilton (City of)
    -  Johnson (Township of)
    -  Kapuskasing (Town of)
    -  King (Township of)
    -  Kingston (City of)
    -  Lambton County
    -  London (City of)
    -  Merrickville-Wolford (Village of)
    -  Métis Nation of Ontario
    -  Métis Nation of Ontario Women's Secretariat
    -  Mississauga (City of)
    -  Moonbeam (Corporation du Canton de)
    -  Niagara (Regional Municipality of)
    -  Niagara Falls (City of)
    -  Orangeville (Town of)
    -  Perth (Town of)
    -  Peterborough (City of)
    -  Richmond Hill (Town of)
    -  Russell (Township of)
    -  Schreiber (Township of)
    -  Scugog (Township of)
    -  Shelburne (Town of)
    -  Tay Township
    -  Temagami (Municipality of)
    -  Trent Hills (Municipality of)
    -  Uxbridge (Township of)
    -  Waterloo (Regional Municipality of)
    -  West Perth (Regional Municipality of)
    -  Whitby (Town of)
    -  Whitchurch-Stouffville (Town of)
    -  Whitefish River First Nation
    -  Windsor (City of)
    -  Woodstock (City of)

For further information:

For further information: Catrina Colme, Marketing and Communications
Coordinator, Ontario Heritage Trust, Telephone: (416) 325-5074, E-mail:

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890