CNA and CMA Media Awards for Excellence in Health Reporting - Record number of entries

    OTTAWA, Dec. 5 /CNW Telbec/ - The Canadian Nurses Association (CNA) and
the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) announced today they had received a
record number of submissions for the 2008 CNA and CMA Media Awards for
Excellence in Health Reporting.
    One hundred and forty-five entries were submitted this year - a
30 per cent increase from 2006. Significant interest was noted in the Print in
Depth, TV News and Radio in Depth categories. As well, the Local Print
category, that was introduced last year, continued to receive a high degree of
    The judging process will now begin with 20 volunteer judges at the task,
comprised of journalists, health care executives, nurses and physicians. They
will be split into selection panels that will evaluate the entries on fairness
and balance, timeliness, insight, impact and quality of the
    The winners will be announced at a Gala Evening on March 4, 2008, at the
Fairmont Château Laurier in Ottawa. (Tickets are available online at
    Past recipients of the CNA and CMA Media Awards include Stephanie Nolen
(Globe and Mail); Joseph Hall, Rick Westhead and Tanya Talaga (Toronto Star);
Avis Favaro and Elizabeth St. Philip (CTV News); Josée Guérin (Radio-Canada);
Stephanie Douglas (The Mountaineer); and the CBC Investigative Unit. (For a
complete list, please consult

For further information:

For further information: Ms. Tina Grznar, Canadian Nurses Association,
(613) 237-2159, ext. 283,; Mr. Lesly Bauer, Canadian
Medical Association, (613) 731-8610, ext. 2288,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890