CNA and CMA Announce Recipients of 2010 Media Awards for Health Reporting

OTTAWA, Jan. 27 /CNW Telbec/ - The Canadian Nurses Association (CNA) and the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) today announced the recipients of the 2010 Media Awards for Health Reporting, Canada's premier health journalism awards.

"It takes a special gift to turn complex health-care issues into compelling stories for the public. The Media Awards for Health Reporting acknowledge the efforts of talented journalists who work so diligently to keep us informed," said CNA President Kaaren Neufeld. "Health reporters act as a catalyst for positive change by drawing public and political attention to important health-care questions. Their work helps shape tomorrow's health-care system and supports Canadians in making informed decisions with respect to their own health."

The CNA and CMA Media Awards honour outstanding Canadian journalism that enhances understanding of health, the health care system and the role of health professionals. Independent panels of individuals with backgrounds in journalism, nursing, medicine, and health care evaluate the entries. This year they selected winners in eight categories out of a total of 141 submissions. Entries were evaluated based on fairness and balance, timeliness, insight, impact and quality of writing and production.

"From the advent of the H1N1 global pandemic to the impact of the economic downturn, the past year has been a challenging one in the health sector," said Dr. Anne Doig, president of CMA. "Just as Canada's health professionals rose to the challenge, so too did our journalists, providing exceptional coverage of the health issues that matter to Canadians. Our congratulations go to the winners of this year's competition who truly represent the best of an exceptional year of coverage, and our thanks go to the judges who deliberated for many hours to make difficult decisions with integrity, keen judgment and a critical eye for quality."

    The 2010 Media Award recipients are:
                               Award                           Title of
    Category                Recipient(s)    Media Outlet     article/story
    Excellence in Print    Jen Skerritt     Winnipeg Free   "Hunger amid the
    Reporting - In-depth                    Press            plenty"
    Feature Article

    Special Mention        Jennifer         The Canadian    "Clearing the
                           Ditchburn,       Press            air: Carbon
                           Jeremy Agius,                     monoxide
                           Angela Pacienza                   poisoning"
    Excellence in Print    Jen Skerritt     Winnipeg Free   "Tuberculosis:
    Reporting - In-depth                    Press            The forgotten
    Feature Series                                           disease"
    Excellence in Radio    Pauline Dakin    CBC News        "The forgotten
    Reporting - News                                         cancer"
    Excellence in Radio    James Hees, Ann  CBC Radio,      "Million dollar
    Reporting - In-depth   Sullivan, Derek  Edmonton         babies"
    Excellence in          Laurie Graham    CBC News: The   "Prescription
    Television Reporting                    National         drug recycling"
    - News
    Excellence in          Chantal Théorêt, Société Radio-  "Le cancer : une
    Television Reporting   Claude D'Astous  Canada,          révolution se
    - In-depth                              Découverte       prépare"

    Special Mention        Jean-Pierre      Société Radio-  "Grippe A H1N1:
                           Rogel, Louis     Canada,          tout ce qu'il
                           Faure, Claude    Découverte       faut savoir"
                           D'Astous, France
                           Désourdy, Mario
                           Masson, Marièle
    Excellence in Local    Angela Hill      Prince Albert   "HIV in
    Print Reporting                         Daily Herald     Saskatchewan"
    Excellence in Local    Jennifer Beard,  CBC Ottawa      "Swine flu -
    Broadcast Reporting    Sandra Abma,                      Ready or not"
                           Laurie Fagan,
                           Paula Waddell,
                           Ruth Zowdu,
                           Lynn Douris,
                           Emily Chung

    Special Mention        Joan Weeks       CBC Cape Breton "Feeling
                                                             Teenage drug

The CNA and CMA Media Awards winners will be honoured at a gala celebration on March 2nd, 2010 at The Canadian Museum of Civilization in Gatineau, Quebec. Tickets can be purchased online at

SOURCE Canadian Medical Association

For further information: For further information: Paul Watson, Canadian Nurses Association, Tel. (613) 237-2159 ext. 283, Cell (613) 697-7507, E-mail:; Lucie Boileau, Canadian Medical Association, Tel. (613) 731-8610 ext. 1266, Cell (613) 447-0866, Email:

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890