CMA recognizes Young Physician Leaders

OTTAWA, Aug. 11 /CNW Telbec/ - The Canadian Medical Association (CMA) is pleased to recognize three young physician leaders as the recipients of its 7th annual Award for Young Leaders. The award celebrates the efforts of young physician leaders of tomorrow for their efforts today.

The recipients of the 2010 Award for Young Leaders are medical student Laura Drudi of St. Leonard, Québec, medical resident Dr. Laura Stinton of Calgary, Alberta, and Dr. Ann Vaiyda of Calgary, Alberta, in the early career category.

Laura Drudi (student)

Laura Drudi is entering her third year of medical study at McGill University. This talented student has an impressive record of research, publications, and awards to her name. In May 2010 Drudi won the Aerospace Medical Student and Resident Organization Scholarship, which aims to promote the career development of trainees interested in aerospace medicine, and the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame Scholarship, for academic excellence in pursuit of an education and career in the health sciences.

"I am honored and humbled to be recognized by the CMA community. As a young girl, I wouldn't have dared to imagine where I would be today," said Ms. Drudi. "My parents fostered my curiosity in science and emphasized hard work as the key to success. I've started down a unique path, wanting to work for the space program. I am still pursuing that dream as a medical student."

Her research has included the effects of aerospace travel on fatigue, and the effect of lunar dust in the operational space medical setting. The founding president of the Aerospace Medicine Student Association, she was one of 26 Canadians selected to attend the International Astronautical Congress in South Korea in October 2009. In June 2010, Drudi was the only Canadian selected for a 10-week research internship at NASA Academy, which provides opportunities for students to pursue careers with the U.S. space agency.

Dr. Laura Stinton (resident)

The resident recipient of the 2010 Award for Young Leaders', Dr. Laura Stinton, is recognized for her exemplary dedication and commitment to the field of medicine while serving as a positive role model for her peers and colleagues.

Dr. Stinton has been the recipient of numerous awards recognizing her talent and dedication, including the prestigious CIHR Health Professional Student Research Award, the Alberta Medical Association Award in Internal Medicine and two of the highest resident research awards in Canada - the CAPM/CASCI Resident Research Award and the CSCI/CIHR/PGME Resident Research Award. As well, she received the Alberta Heritage Foundation for Medical Research summer studentship, which is reserved for students with the highest scholastic standing.

Dr. Stinton is a medical graduate of the University of Calgary. Having recently completed her Internal Medicine Residency Training, she is currently pursuing a PGY4 level Gastroenterolgy Residency.

She has conducted a significant amount of research on the immune system, particularly in the area of autoantibodies, which has led to the publication of her work in Clinical Immunology.

Besides an impressive record of research, Dr. Stinton has also shown leadership by participating in numerous committees and associations at the University of Calgary, including the Medical Education Committee and the Dean's Executive Faculty Council for the Faculty of Medicine. She has also served as a medical school admissions interviewer for the university.

"I am incredibly honored to receive the 2010 CMA Young Leaders Award and accept it with thankfulness and humility. I am extremely grateful and indebted to all of my mentors who have been an indescribable support to me over many years," said Dr. Stinton.

Dr. Ann R. Vaidya (early career physician)

Dr. Ann Vaidya's exceptional commitment to her profession and the community she serves exemplifies her dedication to making a difference within the health care field. Her medical career is complemented by her extensive volunteer activities, both administrative and political, within the medical profession.

For several years Dr. Vaidya has been actively involved with the AMA on a number of committees, ranging in scope from health issues to membership benefits. She recently stepped up as the president of the Alberta Medical Association's Section of General Practice, representing approximately 4,000 family physicians. She is the youngest physician ever to hold this honor and her selection demonstrates her colleagues' confidence in her ability and her integrity.

"I'm thrilled to receive a CMA Young Leaders award. It's hard to believe it's been eight years since I began volunteering with the Alberta Medical Association as a medical student. I've grown so much thanks to AMA Board, committee and staff members who have mentored and supported me over the years," said Dr. Vaidya. "It continues to be a privilege to serve my colleagues and to advance primary care in Alberta - not only for physicians, but our patients too."

Dr. Vaidya's training and expertise in elder care have allowed her to become a valuable resource and community leader in the care of seniors. Her skills and experience working with the elderly are of immense value at the local, provincial and national level, particularly in light of the growing population of seniors and the demands and challenges they will create for the health care system. The diversity in her primary care clinical practice allows her to work with physicians, nurses and other health care professionals and support staff in many primary care settings, enhancing her leadership capabilities.

The Young Leaders Award recipients have demonstrated exemplary dedication, commitment and leadership in one of the following domains: political, clinical, education, research and/or community service.

"I continue to be thrilled and impressed by the quality of our young leaders," said Dr. Anne Doig, CMA President. "Given their intelligence, commitment, innovation and determination, I believe that the profession will be in good hands in the future."

The CMA will present the 2010 Award for Young Leaders on Aug. 25 at its 143rd annual general meeting at the Crowne Plaza in Niagara Falls, Ontario.

SOURCE Canadian Medical Association

For further information: For further information: Lucie Boileau, Manager, Media Relations, Tel: (800) 663-7336 or (613) 731-8610, ext. 1266, Mobile: (613) 447-0866,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890