CIM Announces John T. Ryan Safety Award Recipients

    Three National Recipients Achieved Zero Reportable Injuries in 2008

    TORONTO, May 12 /CNW/ - Three mine sites received the prestigious John T.
Ryan Safety Award in recognition for notable safety achievements. The awards
were presented at an awards gala in Toronto on May 11.
    Vale Inco's Copper Cliff North Mine received the national award in the
Metal Mine category, PotashCorp's New Brunswick Division received the award in
the Select Mine category, and Sherritt Coal's Sheerness Mine received the
award in the Coal Mine category.
    "Winning this award is very meaningful to us at North Mine. It's a big
part of our culture and of who we are," said Jason Simpson, Manager of Vale
Inco's Copper Cliff North Mine in Sudbury, Ontario. The mine has achieved zero
disabling injuries for four consecutive years and received this award three
years in a row, and has now surpassed 2.3 million hours without a disabling
injury. "People ask us what our secret is, and I tell them our success is
generated through respectful dialogue. Listening, understanding and responding
to safety ideas are vital. So the secret is simple but not easy: hard work
every minute of every day by all people to do things that help prevent
injuries to themselves or others."
    "Safety is a core value at PotashCorp New Brunswick and we are committed
to continuous improvement in safety," said Mark Fracchia, General Manager,
PotashCorp New Brunswick Division. "Our employees and contractors look out for
each other in their day to day tasks and work together to eliminate exposures
in their workplace. Our goal is "no harm to people".
    "We're honoured to receive this award, which is an acknowledgement of the
safety focus among all our employees," said Ken Styres, Mine Manager at
Sherritt's Sheerness Mine. "We are committed to providing a safe, healthy
workplace for all individuals. Our ultimate goal is to provide an accident
free work environment."
    All three recipients achieved a 0.0 reportable injury rate in 2008. A
reportable injury is defined as lost-time injuries plus modified work
injuries. The reportable injury rate is calculated as total reportable
injuries multiplied by 200,000 work hours, divided by the total number of
hours worked at the operation.
    "The safety performance of these award recipients is nothing short of
exceptional," said Jean Vavrek, Executive Director of the Canadian Institute
of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM). We are tremendously proud to
celebrate their success."
    The National CIM John T. Ryan Safety Awards are presented at the annual
CIM Conference and Exhibition. There are also six regional awards presented at
other events in the metal mines category in Quebec and East, Ontario, Prairies
and NWT and B.C./Yukon. There are also East and West regional awards presented
in the select mine category.

    Background on John T. Ryan Safety Awards

    In 1941, the Canadian mining industry was making every effort possible to
produce metals and minerals for war supplies. It was important, given the work
environment at the time, to optimize safe production. When the Mine Safety
Appliances Company of Canada Limited (now MSA Canada Inc.) offered to donate a
prestigious trophy to recognize notable achievement, it was gratefully
accepted by the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum.
    The first trophy, named the John T. Ryan Trophy to honour the founder of
Mine Safety Appliances, was won by the Chesterville Mine near Virginiatown,
    In 1942, a second national John T. Ryan Trophy was established for coal
mines and seven regional trophies for metal and coal mines were donated by the
sponsor. With the development of potash mines in Saskatchewan in the late
1960s, it was recognized that a third national trophy was required for the
part of Canadian mining which did not fall into either the metal or coal
categories. The select mine category was established in 1970.
    In 1980, MSA Canada began giving special award certificates to companies
which were judged to have made notable achievements in safe production, but
were not eligible for one of the nine national and regional trophies awarded
annually. At the same time, it included with the trophy presentations a framed
certificate of achievement, so that winners would have a permanent record to
display. The Ryan program is administered by a committee of the Canadian
Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum. Members of the committee are
chiefs of the mine inspection branches of provincial and territorial
governments and heads of provincial and territorial mining associations.
Current Chairman is George Pirie, President of Breakwater Resources.

For further information:

For further information: Media Contact: Ian Hamilton, DFH Public
Affairs, (416) 206-0118 x.222,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890