Charles Taylor Writers' Circle: Seamus O'Regan Gets Close to the Five Authors Shortlisted for This Year's Prize

TORONTO, Jan. 26 /CNW/ - This Friday, January 28, Bravo! Television will tape a television special focused on the five authors shortlisted for the 2011 Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction. The five Canadian authors will speak with Canada AM host Seamus O'Regan, in front of a live audience for a special edition of Bravo's weekly Arts&Minds program.

Free Public Taping: The taping takes place this Friday, January 28, in Toronto's famed Masonic Temple. All are welcome to attend this free public event, but seating is limited. Be sure to reserve your spot by calling (416) 384-2211 or sending an e-mail to 

The Arts&Minds show will feature an intimate conversation with the finalists. The unscripted discussion will give the audience a first-hand account of the inspiration behind the authors and their books and a chance to talk to the finalists themselves.

The 2011 Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction finalists are:

  1. Stevie Cameron for On the Farm: Robert William Pickton and the Tragic Story of Vancouver's Missing Women, published by Alfred A. Knopf Canada.
  2. Charles Foran for Mordecai: The Life & Times, published by Alfred A. Knopf Canada.
  3. Ross King for Defiant Spirits: The Modernist Revolution of the Group of Seven published by Douglas & McIntyre / McMichael Canadian Art Collection.
  4. George Sipos for The Geography of Arrival: A Memoir published by Gaspereau Press.
  5. Merrily Weisbord for The Love Queen of Malabar: Memoir of a Friendship with Kamala Das published by McGill-Queen's University Press.

The show will be broadcast on Bravo! nationally several times in the days leading up to the winner announcement on February 14. Arts&Minds is also producing an extensive upcoming program tracking the 2011 Charles Taylor Prize events, from the announcement of the shortlist on January 11th, through to the announcement of the winner at the gala luncheon and awards ceremony on Valentine's Day.

The prestigious Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction recognizes excellence in Canadian non-fiction writing. Since its inception the prize has fostered a growing interest in non-fiction, engaged Canadians in the genre of literary non-fiction, and boosted sales of the winning authors' books.

Founded in commemoration of the late Charles Taylor, one of Canada's foremost essayists and a prominent member of the Canadian literary community, the prize is awarded annually to the author whose book best combines a superb command of the English language, an elegance of style, and a subtlety of thought and perception.

The winner of the 2011 Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction will be announced at a gala awards ceremony and luncheon, to be held at Le Meridien King Edward Hotel in downtown Toronto on Monday, February 14, 2011. The Prize consists of $25,000 for the winning author and $2,000 for each runner-up with promotional support for each shortlisted title.

The Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction is presented by the Charles Taylor Foundation with the generous support of its partners: Ben McNally Books, Bravo! and Book Television, Canada Newswire (CNW), Event Source, Indigo Books & Music, Le Meridien King Edward Hotel, Quill & Quire, The Globe and Mail, and Windfields Farm.

SOURCE Charles Taylor Prize

For further information:

Stephen Weir
Stephen Weir & Associates |
2482 Yonge Street, Unit 45032, Toronto, ONT.
Tel: 416-489-5868 | Fax: 416-488-6518

Organization Profile

Charles Taylor Prize

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890