CFC alumni take home top prizes at Worldwide Short Film Festival

    Over $80,000 in cash and prizes awarded to filmmakers from around the

    TORONTO, June 16 /CNW/ - Presented by TELUS, CFC Worldwide Short Film
Festival (June 10th - 15th) proudly presented 10 awards and over $80,000 in
cash and prizes to this year's top filmmakers at the 2008 CFC Worldwide Short
Film Festival Awards Picnic. Offering one of the largest prize packages for
short film in the world, the WSFF honoured this year's exceptional filmmakers
in the presence of over 400 industry delegates and filmmakers from around the
    One of only three Canadian festivals accredited by the Academy of Motion
Picture Arts and Sciences(R), WSFF Canadian award winners are eligible for
Genie Awards, while winners of the awards for Best Live-Action Short and Best
Animated Short become eligible for the Academy Awards(R).
    "This year's selection of award-winning shorts showcases the incredible
vision, talent and creativity of emerging and established filmmakers at home
and from around the world," said Eileen Arandiga, Festival Director. "The CFC
Worldwide Short Film Festival is proud to honour these exceptional creators
and we thank them for their contribution in making the 2008 Worldwide Short
Film Festival nothing short of remarkable."
    The highly anticipated Award for Best Canadian Short Film, presented by
Bravo!FACT, was awarded to CFC Alumna Sarah Galea-Davis with a $10,000 cheque,
for the expertly crafted dramatic short CAN YOU WAVE BYE-BYE? The film, about
a single woman overwrought with postpartum depression tackled a complex and
often taboo subject with sensitivity and subtlety.
    CFC Alumna Audrey Cummings received The Jackson-Triggs Award For Best
Emerging Canadian Filmmaker and a cash prize of $5,000 for her direction of
BURGEON AND FADE, the mother/daughter drama of aging and love, produced
through the 2007 CFC Short Dramatic Film Program.
    The C.O.R.E Digital Pictures Award For Best Animated Short was awarded to
Jay White (Canada), for his hilarious and inventive BOAR ATTACK garnering him
$5000 in cash and eligibility for the 2009 Academy Awards(R). An Honourable
Mention was handed out to Rune Christensen (Denmark) for DOWN THE ROAD, a
stylish animated road thriller.
    Best Live-Action Short and a Sony Digital Camcorder was captured by
director Elizabeth Marre and Olivier Pont (France) for the arresting drama
MANON ON THE ASPHALT (MANON SUR LE BITUME). An Honourable Mention went to
director Asaf Korman (Israel) for his emotionally affecting family drama DEATH
    The Best Experimental Short honour along with a Sony digital video
camcorder, went to François Bégin and Miryam Bouchard (Canada) for the dance
love story ROASTBEEF. An Honourable Mention went to director Jean-Gabriel
Periot (France) for UNDER TWILIGHT.
    The Kodak Award for Best Cinematography in a Canadian Short was presented
to Cinematographer Brendan Steacy for the visually stunning THE ANSWER KEY
along with a digital camera package valued at $800. An Honourable Mention went
to Cinematographer Geneviève Perron (France) for L'ASTRONAUTE.
    Best Documentary Award, presented by Stella Artois with a $2,500 cash
prize and $1,000 of Stella Artois for the filmmaker's next production, went to
director Bartosz Blaschke (Poland) for his quirky, artful documentary ZIETEK.
    CFC Worldwide Short Film Festival is pleased to introduce the inaugural
award for Best Performance in a Live-Action Short. The prize goes to Yosef
Corman-Korman from Israel's DEATH OF SHULA, who brought to life so vividly the
sadness a father experiences when his expectations of family life have
changed. Honourable Mentions go to Kim Kold as "Dennis" in Denmark's DENNIS
and to Chloe Jager Berger in France's TOMBOY.
    A Special Jury Prize for Best Comedy was awarded to director Rob Meyer
(USA) for AQUARIUM. An Honourable Mention went to Dmitry Povolotsky (Poland)
    Announced at the packed Awards screening at the Cumberland 4 Cinemas on
Sunday evening, this year's festival goers voted for OUT OF SPAJALD (VAEK FRA
SPAJALD), directed by Thomas Glud and Lars Wass (Denmark) to win the TELUS
Audience Choice Award and a $5,000 cash prize. Chosen out of all 268 films in
the festival, the TELUS Audience Choice Award is the only prize in which all
films, in both competition and non-competition screenings are eligible to win.
    And finally, the Screenplay Giveaway Prize, a package of goods and
services worth over $50,000 was awarded to Kris Elgstrand for his script "Big
Head" to be directed by CFC Alumnus Dylan Akio Smith. The prize includes
post-production services at Deluxe Laboratories and studio rental from
Centennial College @Wallace Studios, along with film stock from Kodak, two
programming passes to WIFT-T, and legal advice from Heenan Blaikie Barristers
and Solicitors.

    Now in its 14th year, CFC Worldwide Short Film Festival is the leading
venue for the exhibition and promotion of short film in North America and is
one of the premier short film festivals in the world. The WSFF Short Films,
BIG IDEAS Symposium offers renowned professional development, while the WSFF
Business Centre is home to the largest short film marketplace in North
America. For more information please visit:
    To download photography for all films, please go

       The WSFF recognizes the generous support of: TELUS, doug Agency

For further information:

For further information: Media Contacts: V Kelly & Associates, Inc.,
(416) 466-9799,; Tamara MacKeigan, (416) 445-1446 x304,; For schedule information and detailed film
descriptions visit -

Organization Profile

Canadian Film Centre

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890