Catriona Le May Doan and Members of the 1948 RCAF Flyers Lead 2008 Inductees into Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame

    Barbara Ann Scott to Receive Olympic Order

    CALGARY, Jan. 25 /CNW/ - Gold medals abound at this year's Canadian
Olympic Hall of Fame Gala Dinner & Induction Ceremony, to be held April 12 in
Calgary. Heading a list of six inductees are Catriona Le May Doan, a
back-to-back gold medallist in speed skating at the 1998 and 2002 Olympic
Winter Games, and the RCAF Flyers, 1948 gold medallists in men's hockey. Also
featured will be the architects of the Calgary 1988 Olympic Winter Games,
Frank King and Bill Warren. The ceremony will take place at the Calgary
Stampede/Roundup Centre beginning at 6:30 p.m.
    The Canadian Olympic Order will be awarded to Barbara Ann Scott, the
first Canadian to win a figure skating gold medal and the only one to do so in
singles. Scott has been a member of the Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame since
she captured her medal in 1948 and is also an Officer of the Order of Canada.
The award recognizes individuals who have made the Olympic Movement their
life's work and have served it with distinction.
    Alongside Le May Doan and surviving RCAF Flyers players Murray Dowey, Roy
Forbes, Andy Gilpin, Ted Hibberd, Andre Laperrière, Pete Leichnitz and Ab
Renaud, three-time Olympian and 1992 race walking silver medallist Guillaume
Leblanc will be inducted in the athlete category. In the coach category is
Danièle Sauvageau, who guided the women's hockey team to its first gold medal
at the Salt Lake City 2002 Olympic Winter Games. Frank King and Bill Warren,
who led Calgary's successful bid for the 1988 Olympic Winter Games, will enter
the Hall in the builder category.
    The Gala Dinner & Induction Ceremony is part of the COC's 2008 Hall of
Fame Induction Weekend "Celebrating the 20-Year Legacy of Calgary 1988," which
will also include a community outreach program, keynote speaker luncheon,
Congress welcome reception, annual general meeting and Executive and Board
meetings. More than 600 guests are expected to attend the Hall of Fame

    The Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame recognizes those who have served the
cause of the Olympic Movement with distinction. The 2008 inductees are:

    Catriona Le May Doan (long-track speed skater, Saskatoon, Sask.) is a
four-time Olympian, and the first Canadian athlete to defend a gold medal,
winning the 500 m event at both the 1998 and 2002 Olympic Winter Games. She
was a bronze medallist as well in 1998 for the 1000 m event, and carried the
Canadian flag into the Salt Lake City opening ceremony four years later. Le
May Doan, a five-time world champion in the 500 m, was the first woman to
break the 37-second barrier in the event. (She still holds the Canadian
record.) She was Canada's Athlete of the Year on three occasions and in 2005
was inducted into the Canadian Sports Hall of Fame and awarded the Order of
Canada. Le May Doan has honorary degrees from the University of Calgary and
the University of Saskatchewan.

    The RCAF Flyers (men's hockey) were not expected to fare well at the 1948
Olympic Winter Games in St. Moritz, Switzerland. Revised rules on amateur
status forced the last-minute creation of this squad, comprised of 17 Air
Force and ex-Air Force players. Yet at only the fifth Olympic Winter Games
ever, the Flyers reeled off six straight victories before registering a
scoreless tie with heavily-favoured Czechoslovakia. In their final game
against the host Swiss team, a win by two or more goals ensured the team a
gold medal. In a hostile environment, the Flyers rode 22-year-old goaltender
Murray Dowey to a 3-0 shutout win. Dowey, who is one of the seven surviving
members attending the induction ceremony, finished the tournament with five
shutouts in eight games. The team was inducted into the Canadian Forces Sports
Hall of Fame in 1971 and at the base in Trenton, Ont., the rink is named the
"RCAF Flyers Arena."

    Danièle Sauvageau (women's hockey coach, Deux-Montagnes, Que.) was head
coach and general manager of the Canadian national women's hockey team when it
won gold at the 2002 Olympic Winter Games. Sauvageau was assistant coach at
the previous Games in Nagano where the team captured silver. She also guided
the team to two world championship gold medals in 1999 and 2001. She was named
coach of the year in 1999 by the Coaching Association of Canada and by the
Gala Sports Québec in 1995, 2000 and 2002. The Montreal YMCA named her woman
of the year in 2000 and Saint Mary's University bestowed her an honorary
doctorate in 2002. The 22-year police veteran was the first woman to coach in
the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League when she joined the Montreal Rocket in

    Barbara Ann Scott (figure skater, Ottawa) was Canada's first gold
medal-winning figure skater at the 1948 Olympic Winter Games. Her athletic
career started early, when she won the Canadian national junior title at the
age of 11. Two years later she became the first woman ever to land a double
Lutz in competition. Scott was named the country's top athlete in 1945, 1947
and 1948. She is a member of the Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame, Canada's
Sports Hall of Fame, the World Figure Skating Hall of Fame and the Canadian
Figure Skating Hall of Fame. In 1991, she was awarded the Order of Canada and
in 1998 she was named to Canada's Walk of Fame.

    Guillaume Leblanc (race walker, Sept-Iles, Que.) is a three-time Olympian
and silver medallist in the 20 km race walk. After finishing 10th in Seoul in
1988, Leblanc came back to capture silver in Barcelona four years later -
Canada's best-ever race walking result. He also won gold at the Jeux de la
Francophonie in 1989 and at the 1990 Commonwealth Games. That year he also
held the world record in the 30 km walk.

    Frank King (Redcliff, Alta.) and Bill Warren (Lacomb, Alta.) were leaders
in the bid for the Calgary 1988 Olympic Winter Games and helped restructure
the Calgary Olympic Development Association (CODA). As CODA's Chairman, King
was instrumental in preparing and winning the bid to host the 1988 Games. Of
his many awards, King has received the Gold Olympic Order, the IOC's highest
award. He is also an Officer of the Order of Canada. Warren has long
contributed to sport and the Olympic Games, since 1986 holding such titles as
Chef de Mission for the Canadian Team (1994, Lillehammer) and president of the
Canadian Olympic Association (1994-2001). He, too, was awarded the Order of
Canada as well as the Olympic Order. Both King and Warren guided the Calgary
Olympic Winter Games toward financial success, which has resulted in a legacy
of sports facilities and funding for athletes.

    Tickets for the 2008 Hall of Fame gala dinner and induction ceremony are
on sale now and available by calling 416-324-4144.

    The Canadian Olympic Committee is a national, private, not-for-profit
organization committed to sport excellence. It is responsible for all aspects
of Canada's involvement in the Olympic movement, including Canada's
participation in the Olympic and Pan American Games and a wide variety of
programs that promote the Olympic Movement in Canada through cultural and
educational means. For more information, see the COC website:

For further information:

For further information: Steve Keogh, Manager, Communications, Canadian
Olympic Committee, Phone: (416) 324-4146, Cell: (416) 434-3618, Email:

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890