Carnegie Medals Awarded to 26 for Extraordinary Civilian Heroism

    PITTSBURGH, July 2 /CNW/ -- In its second award announcement of 2008, the
Carnegie Hero Fund Commission today named 26 individuals from the United
States and Canada as recipients of the Carnegie Medal. The medal is awarded to
those who risk their lives to an extraordinary degree while saving or
attempting to save the lives of others. Seven awardees lost their lives in the
performance of their rescue acts.
    The heroes announced today bring to 48 the number of awards made to date
in 2008 and to 9,199 the total number of awards since the Pittsburgh-based
Fund's inception in 1904. Commission President Mark Laskow stated that each of
the awardees or their next of kin will also receive a grant of $6,000.
Throughout the 104 years since the Fund was established by
industrialist-philanthropist Andrew Carnegie, $30.6 million has been given in
one-time grants, scholarship aid, death benefits, and continuing assistance.
The awardees are:

    Curtis Dawson                       Astoria, Ore.
    Dennis H. Morton                    Prineville, Ore.
    Giankarlo Squicimari, deceased      Miami, Fla.
    H. Lee Cooper                       Westport, Conn.
    Bryan K. Smith, deceased            Arcata, Calif.
    Alexander J. Machado                Milton, Del.
    Jeffery Allen Connell               Mason, Mich.
    Samara Marie White, deceased        Davison, Mich.
    Lykesia Lilly                       Polkton, N.C.
    Andres Morales                      New York, N.Y.
    Nicholas P. Leary                   Plainfield, Conn.
    Deborah Chiborak                    Winnipeg, Man.
    Gerard Beernaerts                   Winnipeg, Man.
    Craig M. Gouker, deceased           Hanover, Pa.
    Jeffrey W. Sellers                  Hazel Green, Ala.
    Patrick S. Payne                    Grant, Ala.
    Dwayne D. Trotti, deceased          Killen, Ala.
    Travis Wayne Koehler, deceased      Las Vegas, Nev.
    David A. Snow                       Henderson, Nev.
    Richard T. Antonino                 Plymouth, Mass.
    Kenneth W. Ringeisen, deceased      Virginia Beach, Va.
    Philip Bevacqua                     Totowa, N.J.
    DeWayne W. Griffin                  Amarillo, Texas
    Marc Patterson                      Kamloops, B.C.
    Michael William Baldwin             Wausau, Wis.
    Sandra S. Baldwin                   Wausau, Wis.
    Summaries of the heroic acts of the awardees can be found at Information on the Carnegie
Medal and the history of the Carnegie Hero Fund Commission can be found at
    Contact:  Douglas R. Chambers
    Toll free:  1-800-447-8900

For further information:

For further information: Douglas R. Chambers of Carnegie Hero Fund 
Commission, +1-800-447-8900 Web Site:        

Organization Profile

Carnegie Hero Fund Commission

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890