Candidates for the Office of National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations announced today

    OTTAWA, June 17 /CNW Telbec/ - Loretta Pete Lambert, the Chief Electoral
Officer responsible for the July 2009 election for the office of National
Chief of the Assembly of First Nations, has received and approved nomination
papers from the following persons (home region included):

    - Shawn Atleo (British Columbia)
    - John Beaucage (Ontario)
    - Perry Bellegarde (Saskatchewan)
    - Terrance Nelson (Manitoba)
    - Bill Wilson (British Columbia)

    According to the AFN Charter an eligible candidate must be:

    - eighteen (18) years of age or older;
    - of First Nation ancestry;
    - a member of a First Nation community in good standing with the AFN;
    - endorsed by 15 eligible electors (First Nations Chiefs).

    The election for the position of National Chief will be held at the
Calgary Telus Convention Centre in Calgary, AB on July 22, 2009 during the
AFN's 30th Annual General Assembly (July 21-23).
    Elections are held in accordance with the AFN Charter, which states that
the first person to receive sixty (60) percent of the votes from registered
voters at the Assembly will be declared the winner. There are more than 630
First Nations communities in Canada that are recognized as members of the
Assembly of First Nations.
    Note that media will have to contact candidates directly to arrange
interviews. AFN policy does not allow AFN staff to assist candidates in their
campaign work and this includes media interviews. Contact information has been
provided by each candidate.

    Biographies of the candidates are available. Contacts and phone numbers:

    Shawn Atleo                           Perry Bellegarde

    Tel: 1-877-Shawn09 (742-9609) ext. 4  John Hill, Campaign Manager
                                          Alternative contact:
    Rhonda Sim, Campaign Co-Chair         Valerie Galley
    Tel: 1-877-Shawn09 (742-9609) ext. 2  E-mail:
    E-mail:         Cell: (613) 293-4806

    Media enquiries:            
    Tel: 1-877-Shawn09 (742-9609) ext. 1
    John Beaucage                         Terrance Nelson

    Campaign Office: Nipissing First      Tel : (204) 782-4827
    Nation                                E-mail:
    P.O. Box 711
    North Bay, Ontario P1B8J8
    Tel: (705) 497-1721
    Fax: (705) 497-9135
    Bill Wilson

    Tel: (604) 899-4464

    The Assembly of First Nations is the national organization representing
First Nations citizens in Canada.

For further information:

For further information: Media contact: Don Kelly, AFN Communications
Director, (613) 241-6789 ext. 334, cell: (613) 292-2787,; Karyn
Pugliese, AFN Communications, (613) 241-6789 ext. 210, cell: (613) 292-1877,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890