Canadian Television Fund Announces By-law Amendments and Appoints New Chair, Board Members

    TORONTO, June 10 /CNW/ - The Canadian Television Fund (CTF) announced
today that amendments have been approved by its Members to By-law No. 8 to
admit the Canadian Coalition for Cultural Expression (CCCE) as a member of the
CTF. The CCCE replaces the Canadian Cable Television Association (CCTA) and
the direct-to-home (DTH) Member. It has the right to nominate three cable and
two DTH representatives as Directors to the Board.
    Also, the CTF is pleased to announce that Paul Gratton has been elected
as the Chair of the Board of Directors. Mr. Gratton comes to the CTF with a
strong and varied background in the broadcasting industry. Since 1984, Mr.
Gratton has served in senior roles with a number of organizations within the
film and television industry, most recently as Vice President of Specialty
Channels for CHUM Entertainment. From 1999 to 2006, he represented the
Canadian Association of Broadcasters on the CTF Board a number of times. Mr.
Gratton has been a member on a number of industry boards during his career,
including serving as Chair of the Board of the Academy of Canadian Cinema and
Television from 2004-2007.
    "The CTF is a vital component of the television industry in Canada, and I
am honoured to be a part of this organization at this exciting time in its
evolution," said Mr. Gratton. "As the industry adapts to the changing
television landscape, so too will Canada's largest direct funder of television
production. We will continue to meet the needs of the industry and continue to
support shows that Canadians love to watch."
    Finally, two new Directors were elected to the 2008-2009 Board:
Marie-Andrée Poliquin, nominated by CBC/Radio-Canada, and Chris Frank,
nominated by the CCCE. In addition, twelve standing Directors were renewed to
the twenty-one member Board.
    "We are pleased to welcome the new Chair and other Directors to the CTF
Board," said Valerie Creighton, President of the CTF. "Their extensive
knowledge of television funding and expertise within the industry will be true
assets as we continue to support the advancement of Canadian television
production. I would also like to thank our outgoing Chair and Directors for
the dedication, insight, and proficiency they brought to the CTF Board."
    The Canadian Television Fund's Board of Directors is made up of nominees
from the federal government and organizations representing the Canadian
production and distribution community, Canadian cable and direct-to-home
satellite companies, and Canadian broadcasters.

    The 2008-2009 CTF Board of Directors includes:

    Association des producteurs de films et de télévision du Québec (APFTQ)
    (1 member):
        1.  Claire Samson, President and CEO, APFTQ

    Association for Tele-Education of Canada (ATEC) (1 member):
        2.  Michèle Fortin, President and CEO, Télé-Québec

    Canadian Association of Film Distributors and Exporters (CAFDE)
    (1 member):
        3.  Vacant(*)

    Department of Canadian Heritage (5 members):
        4.  Anne-Marie Jean, Executive Director for Culture Montréal(*)
        5.  Eileen Sarkar, Research Fellow at the Centre on Governance at the
            University of Ottawa(*)
        6.  Vacant
        7.  Vacant
        8.  Vacant

    CCCE (5 members):
        9.  Alison Clayton, Independent Consultant
        10. Chris Frank, Vice President Programming, Bell ExpressVu
        11. Robin Mirsky, Executive Director, Rogers Communications Inc.
        12. Vacant
        13. Vacant

    The Canadian Film and Television Production Association (CFTPA)
    (2 members):
        14. Scott Garvie, Senior Vice-President, Business and Legal Affairs,
            Shaftesbury Films Inc.
        15. Paul Pope, Senior Producer, Pope Productions

    Canadian Association of Broadcasters (CAB) (4 members):
        16. Serge Bellerose, Vice President, New Media and Business Affairs,
            TQS Inc.
        17. Judith Brosseau, Senior Vice-President, Programming and
            Communications (Canal D, Historia, Séries+), Astral Media Inc.
        18. Corrie Coe, Director, Programming Administration, CTV
            Television Inc.
        19. Andrew Eddy, Vice-President, Program Strategy and Investment,
            Corus Specialty Television

    CBC/Radio-Canada (1 member):
        20. Marie-Andrée Poliquin, Director of Operations, Financing &
            Business Affairs, General Television

    Chair of the Board:
        21. Paul Gratton(*)

    (*) denotes independent members

    About the Canadian Television Fund
    Fostering the growth of television production in Canada through financial
investment and industry research, the Canadian Television Fund (CTF) supports
the development of Canadian talent, programs and audiences. Since 1995, the
CTF has contributed to the creation of over 27,000 hours of Canadian
television and has provided over $2.7 billion of financial investment
triggering the production of over $8 billion of Canadian television.
CTF-supported productions have cultivated thousands of jobs in the Canadian
television sector. Further details about the CTF are available on the
organization's website at

For further information:

For further information: Media Inquiries: Betsy Chaly, Director of
Communications, Canadian Television Fund,, (416) 554-2768

Organization Profile

Canadian Television Fund

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890