Canadian Securities Regulators Outline Requirements for Exempt Market Dealers

    TORONTO, Aug. 7 /CNW Telbec/ - The Canadian Securities Administrators
(CSA) today outlined the requirements for exempt market dealers (EMDs) under
the new National Registration regime.
    CSA Staff Notice 31-312 summarizes the key proficiency, financial and
operational requirements and transition process for the new EMD registration
category under National Instrument 31-103 Registration Requirements and
Exemptions (NI 31-103) which was published on July 17, 2009. It also
summarizes the conditions for exemptive relief available in Alberta, British
Columbia, Manitoba and the Territories.
    National Instrument 31-103 and related rules apply to firms and
individuals who deal in securities, provide investment advice, or manage
investment funds. NI 31-103 and related rules and amendments will come into
force on September 28, 2009.
    The Notice and NI 31-103 are available on various CSA members' websites.

    The CSA, the council of the securities regulators of Canada's provinces
and territories, co-ordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian
capital markets.

    For more information:

    Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington             Sylvain Théberge
    Ontario Securities Commission       Autorité des marchés financiers
    416-593-2361                        514-940-2176

    Mark Dickey                         Ken Gracey
    Alberta Securities Commission       British Columbia Securities
    403-297-4481                        Commission

    Ainsley Cunningham                  Wendy Connors-Beckett
    Manitoba Securities Commission      New Brunswick Securities Commission
    204-945-4733                        506-643-7745

    Natalie MacLellan                   Barbara Shourounis
    Nova Scotia Securities Commission   Saskatchewan Financial Services
    902-424-8586                        Commission

    Janice Callbeck                     Doug Connolly
    PEI Securities Office               Financial Services Regulation Div.
    Office of the Attorney General      Newfoundland and Labrador
    902-368-6288                        709-729-2594

    Fred Pretorius                      Louis Arki
    Yukon Securities Registry           Nunavut Securities Office
    867-667-5225                        867-975-6587

    Donn MacDougall
    Northwest Territories Securities Office
    -%SU: LAW,TAX
    -%RE: 1

For further information:

For further information: Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington, Ontario Securities
Commission, (416) 593-2361; Sylvain Théberge, Autorité des marchés financiers,
(514) 940-2176; Mark Dickey, Alberta Securities Commission, (403) 297-4481;
Ken Gracey, British Columbia Securities Commission, (604) 899-6577; Ainsley
Cunningham, Manitoba Securities Commission, (204) 945-4733; Wendy
Connors-Beckett, New Brunswick Securities Commission, (506) 643-7745; Natalie
MacLellan, Nova Scotia Securities Commission, (902) 424-8586; Barbara
Shourounis, Saskatchewan Financial Services Commission, (306) 787-5842; Janice
Callbeck, PEI Securities Office, Office of the Attorney General, (902)
368-6288; Doug Connolly, Financial Services Regulation Div., Newfoundland and
Labrador, (709) 729-2594; Fred Pretorius, Yukon Securities Registry, (867)
667-5225; Louis Arki, Nunavut Securities Office, (867) 975-6587; Donn
MacDougall, Northwest Territories Securities Office, (867) 920-8984

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890