Canadian Mental Health Association, National proudly announces award-winners at annual conference in Nova Scotia

    TORONTO, Aug. 28 /CNW/ - Commemorating 100 years of the mental health
movement in Canada, this year's annual national conference Making Waves for
Change was hosted by the Nova Scotia Division of the Canadian Mental Health
Association (CMHA) in Halifax on Friday, August 22 and Saturday, August 23,
2008. This year's conference celebrated the past, present and future of mental
health in Canada, marked the first anniversary of the newly-created Mental
Health Commission of Canada (MHCC), and celebrated individuals and
organizations, for their leadership and contributions to mental health in
their communities at an awards ceremony on Saturday evening.
    Each year, these national awards recognize the outstanding efforts of
individuals and organizations, including CMHA volunteers and staff members in
communities from coast-to-coast-to coast throughout Canada, who exemplify the
vision and mission of the Association.
    CMHA proudly salutes this year's special award-winners and applauds their
many efforts to make a difference in mental health in their communities and in
Canada. This year's recipients include:

    (*) Steve Lurie, CMHA, Toronto Branch. The C. M. Hincks Award honours the
founder of the Canadian Mental Health Association, Clarence Meredith Hincks,
for his spirit and social commitment. It is our highest award and it is
presented annually to one outstanding individual or organization which has
advanced mental health in Canada through their work/volunteer activities by
working on behalf of people with mental illness.

    (*) Don Boddy, Portage Le Prairie, Manitoba. The Outstanding Volunteer
Service Award celebrates a volunteer who has given considerable time and
effort to many different services provided by the CMHA, and has had a positive
impact across Canada.

    (*) Joyce McDonald, CMHA Coldchester/East Hants County Branch, Nova Scotia;
    (*) Jean McBrine, CMHA, Frederiction-Oromocto Branch; and
    (*) Street Outreach and Stabilization Program (SOS), CMHA, Calgary Branch.
    The CMHA Staff Award is presented to any individual CMHA employee or team
which has shown significant leadership within the Association at the local,
regional, provincial, territorial or national level.

    (*) William Calbeck, PEI. The National Distinguished Service Award was
created to commend one exemplary volunteer in each of the Association's

    (*) Olivier Martini, Calgary, Alberta; and
    (*) Participatory Action Research, Winnipeg, Manitoba. The Consumer
Involvement Award is given to a consumer of mental health services who has
contributed to the promotion and involvement of other consumers within the

    (*) Diane Doherty, CMHA, Halton Branch. The Edward Pennington Innovation
Award was created by the CMHA in 2003 to honour Edward J. Pennington, General
Director of the CMHA National Office, for his 15 years of service and to
celebrate innovative mental health programs at the local, regional, provincial
or national level of CMHA. It recognizes significant community development,
mental health promotion projects or programs that exemplify team leadership
and innovation in the mental health field.

    (*), London, Ontario; and
    (*) A Cruel Confusion, a radio mental health series that aired on Sounds
Like Canada on CBC Radio One in Vancouver with Shelagh Rogers (Producer:
Phillip Ditchburn). The Media Award, inaugurated in 1991, honours
representatives in the media who have made outstanding contributions to the
coverage of mental health issues in Canada.

    (*) Jane MacKinnon, Calgary, Alberta. The Freddi Ford Award is given by the
CMHA, in partnership with the Canadian Association of Suicide Prevention, each
year to an outstanding volunteer who has been actively involved in supporting
survivors of suicide.

    (*) North End Community Health Centre, Halifax, Nova Scotia. The Marjorie
Hiscott Keyes Award is chosen by the CMHA Division hosting the Annual
Conference, as an acknowledgement of a local health care provider's
achievements that mirror those of Marjorie Hiscott Keyes. Ms. Keyes was the
first psychiatric nurse employed at Canada's first psychiatric clinic.

    (*) Dalhousie Legal Aid Society, Halifax, Nova Scotia. The Aleck Trawick
Q.C. Award is presented to a legal counsel or law firm, which has provided
extraordinary leadership in advocacy before the courts and legislatures.

    About CMHA, National

    The Canadian Mental Health Association (CMHA), founded in 1918, is one of
the oldest voluntary organizations in Canada. Each year, it provides direct
service to more than 100,000 Canadians through the combined efforts of more
than 10,000 volunteers and staff across Canada in over 135 communities. As a
nation-wide, voluntary organization, the Canadian Mental Health Association
promotes the mental health of all Canadians and supports the resilience and
recovery of people experiencing mental illness. The CMHA accomplishes this
mission through advocacy, education, research and service delivery. For
further information, please visit

For further information:

For further information: Kismet Baun, Senior Communications Advisor,
CMHA, National, Toronto (416) 977-5580, ext. 4141,

Organization Profile

Canadian Mental Health Association

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890