Canadian Journalism Foundation Tenth Annual Awards Gala

    Canadian Journalism Awards presented on June 6th, 2007


    TORONTO, March 12 /CNW/ - The Canadian Journalism Foundation invites you
to join them in celebrating a decade of recognizing journalistic excellence at
its Tenth Annual Awards Gala on June 6, 2007 at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel
in Toronto.
    This year, the Foundation is thrilled to welcome special guest and
honoree Graydon Carter, editor of Vanity Fair magazine. Mr. Carter will be
addressing the gala audience, composed of roughly 500 of Canada's top
journalists, media executives, business and public sector leaders.
    The Foundation is also proud to announce Norman Webster as the recipient
of the 2007 Lifetime Achievement Award. Mr. Webster has made innumerable
contributions to journalism throughout his distinguished lifetime. His career
as a multi-faceted journalist includes terms as editor-in-chief of the Globe
and Mail and Montreal Gazette; as a benefactor, Mr. Webster has generously
supported Saturday Night Magazine and the Canadian Journalism Fellowships.
    The Lifetime Achievement Award has been bestowed upon some of Canada's
most distinguished journalists. In 2004, it was awarded to journalist and
social activist June Callwood and was presented by Her Excellency, the
Governor General of Canada, the Right Honourable Adrienne Clarkson. "Getting
this Award is bliss. It is absolute bliss. There is no honour to compare with
the recognition of your peers," said Callwood. 2005's Lifetime Achievement
recipient was Knowlton Nash and was presented by Chief Anchor and Senior
Editor of CTV News, Lloyd Robertson. "Knowlton has become an ambassador of
journalism," said Robertson, citing Nash's various speeches and writings as
examples of his commitment to journalistic principles. "You have been a beacon
of enlightenment for all of us for the last 40 years."
    Other awards that will be presented at the gala include the Excellence in
Journalism Award - which will be awarded for the first time this year to
winners in two categories: large media and small media - the Greg Clark Award,
the Canadian Journalism Fellowships, the Atkinson Fellowship in Public Policy
and the Martin Wise Goodman Canadian Nieman Fellowship.
    Due to the increased interest and excitement surrounding this year's
event, the Canadian Journalism Foundation's Tenth Annual Awards Gala is
expected to sell out quickly. To purchase a table of 10 for $5,000, which
includes an opportunity to host one or two prominent journalists at your
table, please contact Jody Jacobson at 416-955-0394 or e-mail

    About the Canadian Journalism Foundation

    Established in 1990, The Canadian Journalism Foundation (CJF) is a
not-for-profit organization dedicated to the pursuit of excellence in Canadian
journalism by recognizing outstanding journalistic achievement and by
promoting dialogue between media, business, government and academe.

For further information:

For further information: Jody Jacobson, (416) 955-0394, e-mail

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890