Canadian Journalism Foundation Honours Joe Schlesinger at Annual Awards Gala

    Canadian Journalist to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award

    TORONTO, Feb. 26 /CNW/ - The Canadian Journalism Foundation's 12th Annual
Awards Gala on June 9 will honour CBC Television foreign correspondent Joe
Schlesinger with its Lifetime Achievement Award for his long and distinguished
journalistic career and contribution to broadcasting.
    "I have been a Joe Schlesinger fan for years," says Geoffrey Stevens,
chair of CJF's Lifetime Achievement Award jury. "He is always intelligent,
fair and accurate -- a model for all young journalists.
    "Viewers can always believe and learn from a Schlesinger report. He is
one of the finest foreign correspondents this country has produced. He ranks
with the best internationally."
    Schlesinger has reported for the last four decades from every part of the
globe. He has covered wars and conflicts from Vietnam to the Gulf, and much
more, in his illustrious career. Schlesinger was in Russia with Richard Nixon,
in China with Pierre Trudeau, in the Middle East with Jimmy Carter, in Tehran
when the Shah fell and Ayatollah Khomeini took over, in St. Peter's Square
when John Paul II became Pope and with him on his travels to Poland and other
countries, in Europe with Gerry Ford, with Brian Mulroney in Africa and Jean
Chrétien in Latin America, with Ronald Reagan on many of his travels,
including his summit meetings with Mikhail Gorbachev.
    "A veteran foreign correspondent for CBC television, Joe has been the
standard by which all the rest are judged," adds Norman Webster, CJF's 2007
Lifetime Achievement Award recipient and a member of the Award selection jury.
"He is always willing to sacrifice for his trade. He has impeccable
credentials for this award."
    Among his many other awards, Schlesinger became a member of the Order of
Canada in 1994.
    Other past recipients of the CJF Lifetime Achievement Award include:
Sally Armstrong, Norman Webster, Knowlton Nash, Pierre Berton (posthumous),
June Callwood, Doris Anderson, Trina McQueen, Doug Creighton, Mark Starowicz,
Bernard Derome, Peter C. Newman, Peter Gzowski and Robert Fulford.
    The Lifetime Achievement Award jury members are: Geoffrey Stevens
(chair), Miller Ayre, Dale Eisler, Honourable Pat Carney, Mary Lou Finlay,
Norman Webster and Bernard Derome.
    The gala at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel will also include the
Excellence in Journalism Award, the Greg Clark Award, the Canadian Journalism
Fellowships, the Atkinson Fellowship in Public Policy and the Martin Wise
Goodman Canadian Nieman Fellowship.
    For more information, please contact Jody Jacobson at 416-955-0394 or
e-mail Gala tables are $5,000.  Individual tickets are
also available for $500 each.

    About The Canadian Journalism Foundation

    The Canadian Journalism Foundation (CJF) is a not-for-profit organization
that promotes excellence in journalism by celebrating outstanding journalistic
achievement through an annual awards program; by operating journalism
websites, (English) and (French), in cooperation with
the country's leading journalism schools; and by organizing events that
facilitate dialogue among journalists, business people, politicians,
government officials and academics about the role of the media in Canadian

    /NOTE TO PHOTO EDITORS: A photo accompanying this release is available on
    the CNW Photo Network and archived at
    Additional archived images are also available on the CNW Photo Archive
    website at Images are free to accredited
    members of the media/

For further information:

For further information: Jody Jacobson, Executive Director, The Canadian
Journalism Foundation, 117 Peter St., 3rd floor, Toronto, ON, M5V 2G9, Phone:
(416) 955-0394, Fax: (416) 955-0395, e-mail:

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890