Canadian Icon Anne Murray to Host the 12th Annual Walk of Fame Tribute/The Canada Honours

      Broadcast Premiere Sunday, September 13 - 9pm ET/PT on Global and

      The 2009 Canada's Walk of Fame inductees include: Blue Rodeo, Kim
       Cattrall, Tom Cochrane, Dsquared2, Howie Mandel, Robert Munsch,
                     Chantal Petitclerc and Raymond Burr

    For additional photography, press kit materials and inductee bios visit:

    TORONTO, Aug. 12 /CNW/ - Canwest and Canada's Walk of Fame proudly
announce international performer and award-winning singer, Anne Murray, as
Host of the 12th Annual Walk of Fame Tribute, also known as The Canada
    Premiering Sunday, September 13th - 9pm ET/PT on Global and SLICE(TM),
the annual star-packed gala event will be held at Toronto's Four Seasons
Centre for the Performing Arts on Saturday, September 12 and will feature
retrospective videos, special performances and celebrity presenters who will
be confirmed in the coming weeks.
    "As one of the inaugural inductees, we couldn't have asked for a more
perfect host for this year's event than Anne Murray," commented Christine
Shipton, SVP, Drama and Factual Content, Global Television. "The amazing line
up of talented inductees, with Anne at the helm, guarantees our audience a
remarkable evening of entertainment."
    A 1998 Canada's Walk of Fame recipient, Anne Murray has delighted
millions of fans around the world with her signature voice and time honoured
songs. Having sold over 54 million recordings, Murray has been recognized by
the music industry many times over, including four Grammy Awards, 24 Juno
Awards, three American Music Awards and three CMA Awards. She is currently
finishing work on her memoirs to be published by Knopf Canada and released by
Random House in North America on October 27th.
    "Anne Murray's music has endeared her to millions of Canadians," said
Peter Soumalias, Founding Director, and President of Canada's Walk of Fame.
"Her rich voice is recognized around the world and her timeless songs have
become woven into the fabric of our nation's culture. She is a true ambassador
of Canada's global contribution to music."
    Celebrating its 12th annual ceremony, this year's tribute will expand
Canada's Walk of Fame's list of inductees to 124, shining the spotlight on
these Canadian icons: musical group Blue Rodeo; actor, the late Raymond Burr;
actress Kim Cattrall; rocker Tom Cochrane; designers Dean & Dan Caten
(Dsquared2); comedian Howie Mandel; children's author Robert Munsch and
Para-Olympian Chantal Petitclerc.
    The two-hour Walk of Fame Tribute/The Canada Honours, is presented to a
selection of internationally recognized Canadian luminaries for their lifetime
achievements in the fields of music, sport, film and television, as well as
the literary, visual and performing arts, science and innovation.

    About Canada's Walk of Fame:

    Established in 1998, Canada's Walk of Fame aims to educate, inform, and
inspire through the permanent celebration of the achievements in Canadian
music, sport, film and television as well as the literary, visual and
performing arts, and science and innovation. The annual celebration culminates
in a televised tribute special that honours Canada's finest stars from the
worlds of arts, entertainment, and sports. Each inductee is immortalized,
their names forever cemented into the sidewalks of Toronto's entertainment
district. To date, 116 Canadians have been honoured including Margaret Atwood,
Jim Carrey, Steve Nash, Michael J. Fox and Celine Dion. A complete list of
inductees along with more information on Canada's Walk of Fame can be found at

    About Canwest Originals:

    Canwest is the proud home of the most diverse slate of Canadian Original
programs across the Dramatic, Lifestyle and Entertainment genres. As a
steadfast supporter of the Canadian production community, Canwest is dedicated
to bringing the best of the country to audiences nationwide - including award
winning shows such as; The Guard, Howie Do It, Sarah's House, Holmes on Homes,
X-Weighted, Kenny vs. Spenny, and the nation's number one entertainment
newsmagazine Entertainment Tonight Canada.

    About Canwest Broadcasting:

    Canwest Broadcasting operates two conventional television networks,
Global Television and E!, and eighteen of the country's most popular specialty
channels, including HGTV, Mystery TV, National Geographic Channel, Showcase,
History and TVtropolis. Canwest Broadcasting is a division of Canwest Media

For further information:

For further information: For media inquiries, please contact: Jacqueline
Kendall, Publicist, Canwest Broadcasting, (416) 934-7850,; Jaclyn Atwood, Publicist, Canwest Broadcasting, (416)
966-7293,; Adrienne Kakoullis, Holmes Creative
Communications, (416) 628-5610,; Chris McDowall, Holmes
Creative Communications, (416) 628-5648,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890