Canada's Outstanding Principals for 2009 announced

    31 exceptional principals to be honoured in February

    TORONTO, Jan. 19 /CNW/ - Thirty one exceptional leaders in education from
across the country have been chosen as Canada's Outstanding Principals(TM) for
    The Canada's Outstanding Principals (COP) program is in its 5th year and
this year's winners will join the assembly of more than 120 previous
recipients of this prestigious honour. The award is an initiative of The
Learning Partnership, a national not-for-profit organization that has
championed public education in Canada since 1993.
    The award is presented to principals who have made a measurable
difference in the lives of their students and their own local communities.
They help ensure that Canada's young people continue to receive a quality
    "Strong leadership is what makes Canada's education system one of the
finest in the world," says Veronica Lacey, President & CEO of The Learning
Partnership. "Our principals set the tone for a school and their communities
and children across the country are benefitting from the work of these
remarkable men and women."
    Canada's Outstanding Principals program was developed as an endeavour
between The Learning Partnership and the Canadian Association of Principals,
in collaboration with the University of Toronto's Joseph L. Rotman School of
Management. This year's principals will join their colleagues in the National
Academy of Canada's Outstanding Principals(TM).
    "Canada's principals help young people to prepare for the future. It is
crucial that we recognize the efforts of those leaders whose talents and
accomplishments will help ensure that our country's youth are ready for the
challenges of tomorrow," concluded Ms Lacey.

    The following provide winners' names and background on the program

    Canada's Outstanding Principals for 2009 are:

    Sandra Rhodes            Sir William Van Horne High School   Calgary

    British Columbia
    Randy Horne              Okanagan Mission Secondary School   Kelowna
    Rick Oliver              Rutland Senior Secondary School     Kelowna
    Wendy Payne              Strawberry Vale Elementary School   Victoria
    Sheila Plummer           Seaview Community School            Port Moody
    Douglas Sheppard         Heritage Woods Secondary School     Port Moody

    Susan Marlatt            Strathmillan School                 Winnipeg
    Susan Schmidt            Beaumont School                     Winnipeg

    New Brunswick
    Alan Dunfield            St. Stephen Middle School           St. Stephen
    Chris Treadwell          Park Street Elementary School       Fredericton

    Derick Reid              Lake Academy                        Fortune

    Nova Scotia
    Lily DeYoung             Thorburn Consolidated School        Thorburn

    Northwest Territories
    Angela James             K'alemi Dene School                 Yellowknife

    Gary Kennedy             Kugluktuk High School               Kugluktuk

    Nancy Allaire            Our Lady of Sorrows School          Sturgeon
    Helen Brockman           Anne Hathaway Public School         Stratford
    John Burroughs           Holy Trinity Catholic High School   Simcoe
    Mike Courchesne          St. Gregory School                  Powassan
    Carol Hunter             Vincent Massey Public School        Ottawa
    Ian Jones                Milton District High School         Milton
    Ted Laxton               Sacred Heart Catholic School        Guelph
    Susan Moroz              Queen Elizabeth Public School       Leamington
    John Stieva              White Oaks Secondary School         Oakville
    Caroline Worthy          Frontenac Secondary School          Kingston
    Susan Yun                Bala Avenue Community School        Toronto

    Prince Edward Island
    Derek McEwen             Montague Consolidated School        Montague

    Maria Di Perna           East Hill School                    Montreal

    Jamie Bresciani          Miller Comprehensive High School    Regina
    Lynn Little              Pleasantdale School                 Estevan

    Penny Prysnuk            Selkirk Elementary School           Whitehorse
    Brian Shanahan(*)        Ghuch Tla Community School          Carcross

    (*) Posthumously Awarded

    Nominations were received from every province and territory and selection
was on a representation by population basis. Judging was conducted by a
distinguished group of Canadian education, community and private sector
leaders. Each candidate was scored in the categories of: characteristics of
outstanding principals; evidence of partnerships with parents and community; a
personal story illustrating successful change and innovation which resulted in
improved student achievement as well as letters of support.
    Between February 22 and 26, the winning principals are invited to a
five-day Executive Leadership Training Program at the prestigious University
of Toronto's Joseph L. Rotman School of Management where they will have the
opportunity to dialogue and reflect on leadership issues with other leaders
from the educational, social, cultural and business communities. This year's
winners join an illustrious group of over 120 principals who have already been
awarded this prestigious honour. In addition, on February 24, the winners will
be formally honoured for their contributions at the Canada's Outstanding
Principals Gala Awards Celebration, which is being held in Toronto at the
Delta Chelsea Hotel.
    Canada's Outstanding Principals(TM) is made possible through the generous
support of CIBC, Deloitte and Petro-Canada.

    Established in 1993, The Learning Partnership is a national
not-for-profit organization dedicated to championing a strong public education
system in Canada through innovative programs, executive leadership, credible
research, policy initiatives and public engagement with its partners. Since
its inception, more than four million students and leaders in education have
participated in one or more of TLP's programs, including Take Our Kids to
Work(TM), Welcome to Kindergarten(TM), and Entrepreneurial Adventure. More
information can be found at and

For further information:

For further information: and interview scheduling of Veronica Lacey and
winners: Bruce Kurta, The Learning Partnership, Tel: (416) 440-5124, Cell:
(647) 225-0145, Email:

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890