Canada's New Government funds transit security in Saskatchewan

    REGINA, April 3 /CNW Telbec/ - The Honourable Carol Skelton, Minister of
National Revenue, on behalf of the Honourable Lawrence Cannon, Minister of
Transport, Infrastructure and Communities, today announced $105,000 in funding
to enhance transit security in Saskatchewan.
    These funds will provide the City of Regina with $30,000, and the City of
Saskatoon with $75,000 to carry out risk assessments and to develop security
    "This funding represents an important step towards securing transit
systems province-wide," said Minister Skelton. "Preparing for potential
threats to our smaller communities reinforces the measures already underway in
larger centres. It's another measure our government is taking to improve the
security of Canadians."
    Under round two of Transit-Secure, the Government of Canada's passenger
rail and urban transit security contribution program, up to $2 million in
funding will be provided to rail and urban transit operators outside Canada's
six major urban areas, as well as inter-city rail and bus companies.
    The two-year, $80-million application-based contribution program,
launched in July 2006, is one of the programs included in the $115 million in
funding announced by Prime Minister Harper for Initial Measures to Enhance the
Security of Canada's Passenger Rail and Urban Transit Operations. The program
provides direct assistance to passenger rail and urban transit operators to
further enhance their security measures and to be better equipped to address
potential threats of terrorism.
    "Canada's New Government continues to make investments in the security of
our transportation systems," said Minister Cannon. "The funding announced
today will help smaller operators, along with inter-city rail and bus
companies, develop the building blocks that will help them further enhance
their systems."
    Up to $37 million in funding for round one of this program was announced
in November 2006. The first round was open to operators in the six largest
urban areas in Canada - Montreal, the National Capital Region, Toronto,
Edmonton, Calgary and Vancouver. These operators, along with rail and transit
operators outside the six major urban areas who have not yet received funding,
will be eligible under future rounds of funding.
    Under the program, funding is provided on a cost-shared basis, with
75 per cent from the federal government and 25 per cent from the recipient.
This funding is part of $1.4 billion in national security funding committed in
Budget 2006 for a variety of security initiatives that will help protect
Canadians and their communities, including $254 million for transportation
    Details of the contribution program are available at

For further information:

For further information: Natalie Sarafian, Press Secretary, Office of
the Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities, Ottawa, (613)
991-0700; Terence Scheltema, Director of Communications, Office of the
Minister of National, Revenue, Ottawa, (613) 995-2960; Nicole McNeely,
Communications, Transport Canada, Ottawa, (613) 993-0055; Transport Canada is
online at Subscribe to news releases and speeches at and keep up-to-date on the latest from Transport
Canada; This news release may be made available in alternative formats for
persons with visual disabilities.

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890