Calgary's Jason Kenney named Canada's Best Overall MP in Ottawa

    Maclean's magazine hands out the honours at the Parliamentarians of the
    Year Awards in Ottawa

    TORONTO, May 13 /CNW/ - Maclean's magazine, in association with the
Dominion Institute, L'actualité and Presenting Sponsor Enbridge, celebrated
the third-annual Parliamentarians of the Year awards this evening on
Parliament Hill in Ottawa. Attended by Members of Parliament, some of the
country's most prominent journalists and other Canadians of note, the event
honours Canada's top MPs, as voted by their peers in the House of Commons.
    This year marked the highest-response rate ever among Members of
Parliament with 70% from across all parties voting for Parliamentarians of the
Year. Winners and runners-up cross all political lines as well.
    The award-winners will be highlighted in a special issue of Maclean's
hitting newsstands tomorrow, Thursday, May 14. Full award results, photos,
runners-up and methodology can also be found at

    Best Overall MP

    This year's Best Overall MP is Minister of Citizenship, Immigration and
Multiculturalism Jason Kenney. Mr. Kenney (Conservative) was first elected to
the House of Commons in 1997 and has been re-elected three times, most
recently with 76 percent of the vote.
    In addition to the coveted Best Overall MP, six other awards were
bestowed upon MPs: best orator, best rookie, most collegial, best constituent
representative, hardest working and most knowledgeable.

    Maclean's 2009 Parliamentarians of the Year winners:

    Best Overall MP
    Jason Kenney (CON) (Calgary Southeast)
    Michael Ignatieff (LIB)

    Best Orator
    Bob Rae (LIB) (Toronto Centre)
    Gilles Duceppe (BQ)

    Best Rookie
    Megan Leslie (NDP) (Halifax)
    Marc Garneau (LIB)

    Most Collegial
    Peter Stoffer (NDP) (Sackville-Eastern Shore - Nova Scotia)
    Rodger Cuzner (LIB)

    Best Constituent Representative
    Bill Casey (IND) (Cumberland-Colchester - Nova Scotia)
    Charlie Angus (NDP)

    Hardest Working
    Paul Szabo (LIB) (Mississauga South - Ontario)
    Ted Menzies (CON)

    Most Knowledgeable
    Joe Comartin (NDP) (Windsor Tecumseh - Ontario)
    Gilles Duceppe (BQ)

    How the winners were selected

    To determine the Parliamentarians of the Year Awards winners, Ipsos-Reid
surveyed all 308 Members of Parliament and asked them to nominate the best MPs
in each of seven categories (hardest working, best orator, most collegial,
most knowledgeable about the issues of the day, best at representing their
constituents, best rookie, and best overall). Almost 70 per cent of the MPs
took part this year, casting votes for fellow MPs both within and outside of
their party. The votes were then weighted and converted to a point system to
ensure that larger parties did not have an advantage. The MP with the most
points in each category was the winner.

    About Maclean's:

    Maclean's is Canada's only national weekly current affairs magazine.
Maclean's enlightens, engages and entertains 2.4 million readers with strong
investigative reporting and exclusive stories from leading journalists in the
fields of international affairs, social issues, national politics, business
and culture. Visit

For further information:

For further information: Louise Leger, (416) 764-4125,

Organization Profile


More on this organization

News - Media

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890