CAJ Award winners announced

    VANCOUVER, May 23 /CNW/ - The Canadian Association of Journalists,
Canada's only national professional organization for reporters, editors,
producers and photographers, announced the winners of the annual CAJ Awards
for journalism tonight at the association's Awards gala dinner held in
conjunction with its annual national conference.
    The CAJ's top award for investigative journalism in Canada, the Don
McGillivray Award for Investigative Journalism was presented to Steve Buist of
the Hamilton Spectator for his entry A Pig's Tale.
    The CAJ awards are Canada's only recognition for the best in
investigative journalism across the country.

    The winner in the OPEN NEWSPAPER/WIRE SERVICE (circulation greater
    than 25,000) category is:

        Steve Buist
        A Pig's Tale
        Hamilton Spectator

    The winner in the COMMUNITY NEWSPAPER category is:

        Matthieu Aikins
        Adam's Fall
        The Coast

    The winners in the OPEN TELEVISION (greater than 5 minutes) category

        Frédéric Zalac, Alex Shprintsen, Kris Fleerackers, Georges Laszuk,
        Sandra Bartlett, Susanne Reber
        The Taser Test
        CBC News: The National

    The winners in the OPEN TELEVISION (Less than 5 minutes) category

        Paul Hunter and Harvey Cashore
        Mulroney Mystery
        CBC News: The National

    The winners in the REGIONAL TELEVISON category are:

        Kathy Tomlinson, Eric Rankin, Enza Uda, Paisley Woodward
        Prescription for Profit
        CBC News: Vancouver

    The winners in the OPEN RADIO NEWS/CURRENT AFFAIRS category are:

        Rick MacInnes-Rae, Piya Chattopadhyay, Anthony Germain, Bruce
        Edwards, Donna Cressman, Dawna Dingwall, Andrea Huncar, Naheed
        Mustafa, Tim Lorimer, Alan Guettel
        Nuclear Renaissance
        CBC National Radio News

    The winners in the CAJ/Marketwire COMPUTER-ASSISTED REPORTING (CAR)
    category are:

        Melinda Dalton and Tamsin McMahon
        Waterloo Region Record

    The winner in the PHOTOJOURNALISM category is:

        Steve Russell
        The Toronto Star

    The winner in the MAGAZINE category is:

        Alex Roslin
        The Pill Pushers
        The Georgia Straight

    The winners in the FAITH AND SPIRITUALITY category are:

        Karen Pauls, Vito Cupoli, Margaret Daly, Pauline Dakin, Curt
        Petrovich, Frank Koller, Vik Adhopia, Eli Glassner, Lee Hewitt, Karin
        Where is God Today?
        CBC Radio

    The winner in the SCOOP category is:

        Patricia Bell
        The Nunavut Business Credit Corporation Fiasco
        CBC Nunavut

    The winner in the DAILY EXCELLENCE category is:

        Karen Pauls
        Murder On a Greyhound Bus
        CBC Radio

    The winner in the PRINT FEATURE category is:

        Michael Friscolanti
        How Safe is Your Food?

    The winning entries in each of the categories received $500.

    was also announced at the Awards Banquet. The winner is:

        Tamara Cunningham
        Motel Muddle
        Thompson Rivers University

    Congratulations to all the winners of the CAJ awards and to all the
finalists. The judges remarked that selections were difficult this year
because of the high quality of the entries. The next call for entries will be 
in December, 2009.

    The Canadian Association of Journalists is a professional organization
with over 1,300 members across Canada. The CAJ's primary roles are public
interest advocacy work and professional development for its members.

For further information:

For further information: John Dickins, Executive Director, CAJ, (613)

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890