CAJ Award winners announced

    EDMONTON, May 24 /CNW/ - The Canadian Association of Journalists,
Canada's only national professional organization for reporters, editors,
producers and photographers, announced the winners of the annual CAJ Awards
for Investigative Journalism tonight at the association's Awards gala dinner
held in conjunction with the annual national conference in Edmonton.
    The CAJ's top award for investigative journalism in Canada, the Don
McGillivray Award for Investigative Journalism was presented to Greg McArthur
and Gary Dimmock of the Globe and Mail and The Ottawa Citizen respectively for
the entry The Secret Agent Who Conned the Mounties
    The CAJ awards are Canada's only recognition for the best in
investigative journalism across the country.

    Tonight's other winners:

    The winners in the OPEN NEWSPAPER/WIRE SERVICE category are:

        Gary Dimmock and Greg McArthur
        The Secret Agent Who Conned the Mounties
        The Ottawa Citizen and the Globe and Mail

    The winners in the COMMUNITY NEWSPAPER category (circulation under
    25,000) are:

        Heather Rivers and Elliot Ferguson
        Poverty in Prosperity's Shadow
        Woodstock Sentinel-Review

    The winner in the OPEN TELEVISION (GREATER THAN 5 MINUTES) category is:

        David Ridgen
        Mississippi Cold Case

    The winners in the OPEN TELEVISION (LESS THAN 5 MINUTES) category are:

        Ioanna Roumeliotis and Melanie Glanz
        Skin Deep
        CBC News - The National

    The winners in the OPEN RADIO NEWS/CURRENT AFFAIRS category are:

        Maureen Matthews and Dave Redel
        CBC Radio

    The winners in the CAJ/Marketwire COMPUTER-ASSISTED REPORTING (CAR)
    category are:

        Kevin Donovan, David Bruser, Andrew Bailey
        Give and Take
        The Toronto Star

    The winner in the PHOTOJOURNALISM category is:

        Darryl Dyck
        Photo Portfolio
        The Edmonton Sun

    The winners in the MAGAZINE category are:

        Robert Irwin, Don Stoneman, Mary Baxter
        Faith in Arlan Galbraith, Ontario's Pigeon King
        Better Farming Magazine

    The winner in the FAITH AND SPIRITUALITY category is:

        Jeff Heinrich
        Reasonable Accomodation in Quebec
        The Gazette

    The winning entries in each of the categories received $1,000. Each of
    the winners receives a certificate for their achievements.

    was also announced at the Awards Banquet. The winner is:

        Mary Gazze
        Canada: Destination for Infertile Couples
        Carleton University

For further information:

For further information: John Dickins, Executive Director, Canadian
Association of Journalists, (613) 868-5442 (Cell phone)

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890