Books to America!

    TORONTO, Oct. 24 /CNW/ - This Friday evening at 8:00 p.m. June Dickenson
of the Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction will be on stage at
Harbourfront's International Festival of Authors (IFOA) to present the
Canadian Embassy in Washington, D.C with a selection of Canada's top
non-fiction titles for use in promoting Canadian literature in America.
Friday's presentation will be made in the Brigantine Room at Harbourfront's
York Quay Centre as part of an evening entitled: Spotlight on the Charles
Taylor Prize. 2007 prize winner Rudy Wiebe will read from his award-winning
book and be joined by non-fiction authors Larry Gaudet and David Gilmour, and
poet Margaret Christakos. Charlotte Gray, award-winning non-fiction author and
prize juror, will host the evening event.
    In accepting the prize donation, the Hon. Michael Wilson, Canadian
Ambassador to the United States said: "the Embassy of Canada is grateful for
this generous gift, a highly appropriate tribute to Charles Taylor and his
deep interest in Canada and international events. These books demonstrate
Canadian creativity, scholarship and imagination, an important element of our
diplomacy abroad. We will be proud to make Canadian literary non-fiction
better known to our American friends."
    Nearly 100 of Canada 's best non-fiction works will be front and centre
with world leaders, the U.S. media, and U.S. citizens.
    Noreen Taylor, chair of the Charles Taylor Foundation and founder of the
prize said, "The Taylor Prize Books are going to be lining the Library of
Canada's Residence in Washington. Not only do we hope that The Honourable
Michael Wilson and Mrs. Margie Wilson enjoy reading the best Non Fiction
written in Canada, but we hope that our books will act as ambassadors too,
that they subtly illuminate how Canadians think about a variety of issues and
    Carolyn Strauss, Culture and Outreach Counselor with the Canadian Embassy
in Washington D.C., will accept the donation on behalf of Ambassador Wilson.
June Dickenson will present Ms Strauss with a copy of Rudy Wiebe's, 'Of This
Earth: A Mennonite Boyhood in the Boreal Forest', winner of the 2007 Charles
Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction and a decorative scroll depicting the
titles to be donated.
    Each year the trustees of the Charles Taylor Foundation decide where to
donate copies of all of the books publishers have submitted for the jury's
consideration in the previous prize year. In 2006 the donations went to the
Canadian soldiers fighting in Afghanistan, in 2005 they went aboard ships as
part of the Canadian Navy's Floating Libraries program, and prior to that the
books have been donated to high school libraries and other organizations.

    The Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction is awarded annually to
whose book best combines a superb command of the English language, an elegance
of style, and a subtlety of thought and perception. The prize consists of
$25,000.00 for the winning author and $2,000.00 for each of the finalists. All
of the shortlisted titles receive extensive national publicity and marketing
    The jurors for the 2008 prize are the well-known and award-winning
non-fiction writer Charlotte Gray, J.B. MacKinnon, winner of the 2006 Charles
Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction for his book 'Dead Man in Paradise' and
co-author of 'The 100-Mile Diet', and The Honourable John Manley. The trustees
of the Charles Taylor Foundation are Michael Bradley (Toronto), Judith Mappin
(Montreal), David Staines (Ottawa), and Noreen Taylor (Toronto).

    For more information on the prize please visit:

For further information:

For further information: Media Contact: prize publicist Stephen Weir:
(416) 489-5868, (416) 801-3101, or

Organization Profile

Charles Taylor Prize

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890