Best of BC pharmacy recognized in Whistler

VANCOUVER, May 27, 2011 /CNW/ - The BC Pharmacy Association (BCPhA) recognized future leaders and past trailblazers at this year's Annual Conference in Whistler.

The BCPhA Annual Awards recognize pharmacists and others who have played an essential part in the profession over the last year. The awards recognize those who have displayed exemplary service within the profession, made an outstanding impact in their community and other contributions to the future of pharmacy.

"It's important we take the time to recognize and appreciate this year's recipients," said Marnie Mitchell, CEO of the BCPhA. "Our award winners are paving the way for the future of pharmacy in B.C."

Pharmacists from all over the province gathered at the BCPhA conference to support their peers and hear about changes to the profession. Among some of the changes are broader practice authorities, including administering injections and adapting prescriptions. Community pharmacists across the province are also assisting patients by providing advice and guidance to help them understand and manage their medications.

Winners of the BCPhA 2011 Annual Awards are:

Future Leaders Award     
Gurinder Grewal
SuFei Yue
Certificate of Recognition    
(Distinguished Service)   
Anar Dossa
Victor Ikari
Linda Lytle
Certificate of Recognition    
Sammy Lee (OWFG)
Pfizer Consumer Healthcare    
Bowl of Hygeia Award
John Shillabeer (Parksville)
Ben Gant Innovative  
Practice Award   
Gary Jung (OWFG)
Achievement Award     Greg Wheeler (Penticton)
Friend of Pharmacy Award    Dr. Perry Kendall
Murray Dykeman Mentorship Award  George Pettie (Fraser Lake)
Nycomed Magnum Opus Award   Kevin Cox (Nanaimo)

Notes to editors:

The British Columbia Pharmacy Association (BCPhA) is a not-for-profit, voluntary, professional association of pharmacists and pharmacies. It represents more than 2,400 pharmacists and 720 pharmacies throughout British Columbia.

The BCPhA Annual Conference was held at the Four Seasons Resort, Whistler, from May 12-14, 2011.


SOURCE British Columbia Pharmacy Association

For further information:

Kate Hunter Director, Communications: 604.269.2863

Organization Profile

British Columbia Pharmacy Association

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890