Award-winning Authors Andrew Cohen, Tim Cook, and Sheila Fischman named to the 2010 Charles Taylor Prize Jury

    TORONTO, May 5 /CNW/ - Noreen Taylor, chair of the board of trustees of
the Charles Taylor Foundation, announced today that the jurors for the 2010
Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction are Andrew Cohen, Tim Cook, and
Sheila Fischman.

    About the Members of the Jury:

    Professor of journalism and international affairs at Carleton University
and award-winning author, Andrew Cohen has worked for many newspapers,
including The Globe and Mail, where he was a member of the Editorial Board, a
columnist, and a correspondent in Washington, D.C. between 1997 and 2001. He
has won two National Newspaper Awards, three National Magazine Awards and the
Queen's Golden Jubilee Medal. Among his five books are While Canada Slept: How
We Lost Our Place in the World, which was named a finalist for the Governor
General's Literary Award for Non-Fiction, and The Unfinished Canadian: The
People We Are, a national bestseller. His latest book, Extraordinary
Canadians: Lester B. Pearson, was named a 2008 Globe and Mail notable book.
Andrew Cohen lives in Ottawa with his wife, Mary Gooderham, an author, editor
and journalist, and their son and daughter.
    Tim Cook is the Great War historian at the Canadian War Museum as well as
an adjunct research professor at Carleton University. He is the author of the
award-winning books No Place to Run and Clio's Warriors, as well as At the
Sharp End: Canadians Fighting the Great War, Volume One, which won the 2007 J.
W. Dafoe Prize and the 2008 Ottawa Book Award. Earlier this year, Shock
Troops: Canadians Fighting the Great War, 1917 - 1918, the second volume in
his series on the Great War, was named the winner of The 2009 Charles Taylor
prize for Literary Non-Fiction. His latest book, The Madman and the Butcher:
Sir Sam Hughes, Sir Arthur Currie, and their War of Reputations, is slated for
publication in the fall of 2010. Residents of Ottawa, Tim Cook and his wife
Sarah Klotz have three daughters.
    The most respected name in the Québec translating scene, Sheila Fischman
has translated more than 125 works from French to English by such contemporary
Québec writers as Roch Carrier, Anne Hébert, and Gaétan Soucy. Next Episode,
her translation of Hubert Aquin's Prochain épisode, won the 2003 CBC Radio
Canada Reads competition. She is the receipient of honorary degrees from the
University of Ottawa and the University of Waterloo, and the winner of
numerous literary awards, including the Governor General's Literary Award in
1974, 1984, and 1998; the Félix-Antoine Savard Translation Prize in both 1989
and 1990; the 1998 IBBY Award for translation in 1998; and the 2008 Molson
Prize in the Arts. Her translations were finalists for the Scotiabank Giller
Prize in 1999 and 2006. Named a member of the Order of Canada in 2000 and a
chevalier, Ordre nationale du Québec in 2008, Sheila Fischman lives in

    About the Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction:

    The trustees of the Charles Taylor Foundation established The Charles
Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction to commemorate the life and work of the
late Charles Taylor, one of Canada's foremost essayists and a prominent member
of the Canadian literary community. Charles Taylor was a foreign correspondent
with The Globe and Mail and the author of four books: Radical Tories; Reporter
in Red China; Six Journeys: A Canadian Pattern; and Snow Job.
    The Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction is awarded annually to
the author whose book best combines an excellent command of the English
language, an elegance of style, quality of thought, and subtlety of
    The prize consists of $25,000 for the winning author and $2,000 for each
of the runners up. All of the shortlisted titles receive extensive national
publicity and marketing support.
    The jury will announce the shortlist for The 2010 Charles Taylor Prize
for Literary Non-Fiction at a press conference on January 5 and the winner
during a gala awards ceremony on February 8, 2010. Both shortlist and winner
events will take place at Le Meridien King Edward Hotel in downtown Toronto.
    The trustees of the Charles Taylor Foundation are Michael Bradley
(Toronto), Judith Mappin (Montreal), David Staines (Ottawa), and Noreen Taylor
    For more information please visit:

    To Download high resolution images of the Jurors:

For further information:

For further information: Media contact: Stephen Weir & Associates,
Stephen Weir: Direct: (416) 489-5868,; Linda Crane:
Direct: (905) 257-6033,

Organization Profile

Charles Taylor Prize

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890