Andy Poprawa wins Gold Standard Award in governance

    OTTAWA, Feb. 10 /CNW Telbec/ - Andy Poprawa, President and CEO of the
Deposit Insurance Corporation of Ontario (DICO), is the 2009 winner of the Gil
Bennett Gold Standard Award awarded by The Directors College, Canada's leading
university-accredited director education program.
    "Andy is the governance champion at the Deposit Insurance Corporation of
Ontario. His keen interest in corporate governance has assisted the DICO board
of directors in developing and implementing those innovative governance
practices which help improve an organization's effectiveness," said Dr. Chris
Bart, Principal & Lead Professor, The Directors College.
    Founded by The Conference Board of Canada and the DeGroote School of
Business, McMaster University, The Directors College is Canada's gold standard
in director education. It is the first and only university-accredited director
education program in the country that leads to the internationally recognized
Chartered Director(*) (C.Dir(*)) professional designation.
    The Deposit Insurance Corporation of Ontario is the provincial agency
whose mandate is to protect funds placed on deposit with Ontario's 200 credit
unions and caisses populaires. In 2001, the organization was awarded the
inaugural Conference Board of Canada/Spencer Stuart National Awards in
Governance in the public sector category for its innovation in director
recruitment and selection. Mr. Poprawa currently sits on the adjudication
board for the National Awards in Governance.
    Mr. Poprawa received the award at The Directors College graduation
ceremony held today in conjunction with The Conference Board of Canada/
Spencer Stuart 2009 National Awards in Governance.
    Named in honour of former Canadian Tire chairman Gil Bennett, the Gold
Standard Award has been presented annually since 2006 to a graduate of The
Directors College who demonstrates dedication to raising the bar for
professional standards in corporate governance, both through their progress in
the Chartered Director program and in their experience as directors. Previous
winners include Don McCreesh, Michael MacBean, and Adam Cooper.

For further information:

For further information: Brent Dowdall, Media Relations, (613) 526-3090
ext. 448,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890