and "Books in Canada" Announce 2007 First Novel Award Winner: Gil Adamson for "The Outlander"

    TORONTO, Oct. 1 /CNW/ - This evening, and "Books in Canada"
presented the 2007 First Novel Award and a cheque for $7,500 (CDN) to Gil
Adamson, author of "The Outlander," at a ceremony held at the Drake Hotel in
Toronto. Adamson was selected to receive the award from a group of six
finalists, all of whom had their first novels published in 2007.
    The First Novel Award recognizes outstanding achievement by first-time
Canadian novelists and has served as a springboard for the careers of many of
Canada's most renowned authors. This is the 31st year of the award. Madeleine
Thien, author of "Certainty," won the 2006 award; Joseph Boyden, author of
"Three Day Road," won the 2005 award; and Colin McAdam, author of "Some Great
Thing," won the 2004 award. Other previous winners include Michel Basilières,
Michael Ondaatje, Rohinton Mistry, Joan Barfoot, Joy Kogawa, Wayne Johnston,
Nino Ricci and Deborah Joy Corey.
    "The Outlander," 10 years in the writing, is Adamson's first novel. Her
acclaimed short fiction has been widely published in magazines and literary
journals, and her collection of stories has received rave reviews. "The
Outlander" is published by House of Anansi Press and is available at
    Joining Adamson as 2007 First Novel Award finalists were David Chariandy
for "Soucouyant" (Aresenal Pulp Press); Kyo Maclear for "The Letter Opener"
(Harper Collins Canada); CS Richardson for "The End of the Alphabet"
(Doubleday Canada); Brian Tucker for "Big White Knuckles" (Nimbus Publishing),
and Andrew Wedderburn for "Milk Chicken Bomb" (Coach House Books). All six
finalists were presented with gift certificates in the amount of
$750 (CDN) at the event.
    This year's finalists were selected by Aritha van Herk, an intellectual
and motivational cultural speaker and an award-winning Canadian novelist,
whose work has been acclaimed throughout North America and Europe. Van Herk is
a member of the Royal Society of Canada, and a professor of Canadian
literature and creative writing in the Department of English at the University
of Calgary. Van Herk was recently elected to the Order of the University of
Calgary. Also serving as judges were Dr. Gerald Lynch a professor at
University of Ottawa and recipient of a number of writing awards; Dr. Nicholas
Maes, a Toronto-based writer, reviewer and essayist; and Dr. Clara Thomas, one
of the first women to receive a doctorate in Canada and the doyenne of
Canadian literary studies.
    " would like to thank and congratulate all of the talented
novelists who participated in the 2007 First Novel Award process," said Julie
Todaro, director of "We continue to be inspired by the many
emerging authors who embody Canada's rich and longstanding literary history. remains committed to providing a platform through which literary
fans everywhere can discover their work."
    "Books in Canada" will be accepting submissions for the 2008 First Novel
Award until December 31, 2008.

    About ( is part of the global family of Amazon Web
sites that have become known for great prices, selection, and convenience. customers can find and discover millions of English and French
books, CDs, videos, and DVDs as well as a vast array of software, video games,
and consoles - all at everyday low prices. also offers FREE Super
Saver Shipping, available on orders of $39 or more delivered to a single
Canadian address. sources products directly from Canadian publishers
and distributors, ensuring a rich offering of Canadian titles and content.
Features such as original editorial reviews in English and French and product
recommendations help customers find the right products for them
among the site's broad selection. Through Amazon Marketplace,
customers can conveniently buy and sell used, new, and collectible merchandise
on the same pages where sells those items new.
    To ensure all orders are delivered to customers quickly and efficiently, works with Canada Post, one of the world's most progressive postal
companies. Orders placed at are fulfilled and shipped from within
Canada by Assured Logistics, a part of the Canada Post Group of Companies.

    Forward-Looking Statements

    This announcement contains forward-looking statements within the meaning
of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933 and Section 21E of the Securities
Exchange Act of 1934. Actual results may differ significantly from
management's expectations. These forward-looking statements involve risks and
uncertainties that include, among others, risks related to competition,
management of growth, new products, services and technologies, potential
fluctuations in operating results, international expansion, outcomes of legal
proceedings and claims, fulfillment center optimization, seasonality,
commercial agreements, acquisitions and strategic transactions, foreign
exchange rates, system interruption, significant amount of indebtedness,
inventory, government regulation and taxation, payments and fraud. More
information about factors that potentially could affect's financial
results is included in's filings with the Securities and Exchange
Commission, including its Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended
December 31, 2007, and subsequent filings.

For further information:

For further information: Margaret Antkowski, Mark Van Tol, NATIONAL
Public Relations, (416) 586-0180,,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890