ACTRA Awards in Toronto 2007 announcement of nominees

              Fifteen nominees for three ACTRA Awards announced
         Wendy Crewson to receive ACTRA Toronto's Award of Excellence

    TORONTO, Jan. 30 /CNW/ - Karl Pruner, President of ACTRA Toronto
Performers, is pleased to announce the nominees for the 2007 ACTRA Awards in
Toronto to be presented at The Carlu on February 23, 2007. ACTRA Toronto's
2007 Award of Excellence will be presented to Wendy Crewson. Three juried
ACTRA Awards will be presented: the ACTRA Award for Outstanding Performance -
female, the ACTRA Award for Outstanding Performance - male, and for the first
time, the ACTRA Award for Outstanding Performance - voice.

    ACTRA Toronto's 2007 Award of Excellence will be presented to WENDY

    ACTRA Award for Outstanding Performance - Female:
    Martha Burns             Slings & Arrows (TV series)
    Maria Del Mar            Terminal City (TV Series)
    Deborah Grover           11 Cameras (TV series)
    Martha Henry             At The Hotel (TV series)
    Kristen Thomson          Away From Her (feature film)

    ACTRA Award for Outstanding Performance - Male:
    Chris Bolton             Rent-A-Goalie (TV series)
    William Hutt             Slings & Arrows (TV series)
    Don McKellar             Monkey Warfare (feature film)
    Gordon Pinsent           Away From Her (feature film)
    Michael Therriault       Prairie Giant: The Tommy Douglas Story
                             (TV miniseries)

    ACTRA Award for Outstanding Performance - Voice:
    Len Carlson              Atomic Betty (animated TV series) posthumous
    Ellen-Ray Hennessy       Di-Gata Defenders (animated TV series)
    Tajja Isen               Atomic Betty (animated TV series)
    Ron Rubin                Erky Perky (animated TV series)
    Adrian Truss             Jane and the Dragon (animated TV series)

    "ACTRA may be on strike, but our ACTRA Awards will go on. Kudos to all of
our nominees for their tremendous performances and hats off to our jury
members who have to choose winners from such a strong list of nominations,"
said Pruner.
    "The news that Wendy Crewson has been chosen to receive our 2007 ACTRA
Award of Excellence at the ACTRA Awards on February 23 will come as no
surprise. Her continuing contributions to our film and television industry -
both as an award-winning actor and as a star who graciously leads the fight
for our culture - make her an ideal recipient of our highest honour, the Award
of Excellence," said Pruner.
    Ms. Crewson enjoys a successful career in both Canada and the U.S. She
has eight Gemini nominations, four of them wins, and a Gemini Humanitarian
Award in 2002 for her charitable work for ALS (Lou Gehrig's disease). She has
portrayed multiple Canadian newsmakers including Sue Rodriguez (At The End of
the Day: The Sue Rodriguez Story), Jane Doe (The Many Trials of One Jane Doe),
and Louise Arbour (Hunt for Justice). Selected credits include Sarah Polley's
Away From Her, The Man Who Lost Himself, Sex Traffic, Perfect Pie, Air Force
One, 24, all three installments of The Santa Clause, Niagara Motel and
Margaret Atwood's The Robber Bride. Ms. Crewson recently joined the cast of
    A champion for Canadian culture, Ms. Crewson has been outspoken in
calling for more homegrown dramas on television and increased exposure for
Canadian films. She is a key player in ACTRA's efforts to demand action from
politicians and the CRTC to fix the Canadian television drama crisis. She
continues to be determined and willing to speak out for Canadian artists.
    ACTRA Toronto Performers is the largest organization within ACTRA,
representing more than 13,000 of Canada's 21,000 professional performers
working in the English-language recorded media in Canada. As an advocate for
Canadian culture since 1943, ACTRA is a member-driven organization that
continues to secure rights and respect for the work of professional
    The Awards Gala evening will be hosted by Patrick McKenna. Paul
O'Sullivan is the scriptwriter. The awards show will feature a performance by
ACTRA member and singer Amanda Martinez. The ACTRA Award statuette is by
sculptor Adrienne Alison.
    The annual ACTRA Awards in Toronto recognize outstanding performances by
ACTRA Toronto members and celebrate accomplishment and excellence in our
industry. The ACTRA Awards were re-instituted in 2003 as part of ACTRA's 60th
    The ACTRA Awards in Toronto take place on Friday, February 23, 2007, at
The Carlu.

For further information:

For further information: For media inquiries please contact: Carol
Taverner, Public Relations Officer, ACTRA, Dir: (416) 644-1519,

Organization Profile


More on this organization


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890