50th International Mathematical Olympiad team - Six students selected to represent Canada at the 2009 International Mathematical Olympiad in Bremen, Germany

    OTTAWA, May 29 /CNW Telbec/ - Six of Canada's best high school
mathematics students have been chosen to represent their country at the 50th
International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO). The IMO is the world championship
mathematics competition for high school students and is being held this year
in Bremen, Germany from July 10 to July 22, 2009.
    "The six students have demonstrated the exceptional problem solving
skills, understanding and imagination that is so vital to compete against the
very best at the international level," said Dr. Graham Wright, Executive
Director of the Canadian Mathematical Society, the organization responsible
for the selection and training of Canada's IMO team. "They represent the best
of our students and will be excellent representatives for Canada".
    The six students - Yu (Robin) Cheng, Pinetree Secondary School, Coquitlam
(British Columbia); Jonathan Schneider, University of Toronto Schools, Toronto
(Ontario); XiaoLin (Danny) Shi, Sir Winston Churchill High School, Calgary
(Alberta); Hunter Spink, Western Canada High School, Calgary (Alberta); Chen
Sun A.B. Lucas Secondary School, London (Ontario) and Chengyue (Jarno) Sun,
Western Canada High School, Calgary (Alberta) - were selected from among more
than 200,000 students in grades 7 to 12 (plus CEGEP) who participated in
local, provincial and national mathematics contests.
    The Canadian team members, who must be less than 20 years old when they
write the IMO competition, will be pitting their skills against more than 500
of the world's best students from over 100 countries. The IMO competition
paper, which is set by an international jury of mathematicians, will be
written on Wednesday, July 15 and Thursday, July 16 and the medals awarded on
Tuesday, July 21. The contest is written over two days, each day consisting of
three questions to be solved within four and one-half hours. "It is a highly
challenging mathematical "hexathlon" and these are our Canadian mathletes,"
commented Wright.
    The team will be accompanied by the Team Leader, Dr. Dorette Pronk
(Dalhousie University), the Deputy Team Leader, Mr. David Arthur (Stanford
University) and the Deputy Team Leader Observer, Mr. Jacob Tsimerman
(Princeton University).
    Canada first sent a team to an IMO competition in 1981 (Washington, USA).
Since then, Canadian students have done very well, receiving a total of 16
gold, 37 silver, and 65 bronze medals. At last year's IMO in Madrid, Spain,
the Canadian team placed 22nd out of the 97 competing countries and won six
    "These competitions allow Canadian high school students to compete with
the best from the many other countries," said Dr. Neal Madras, York
University, Chair of the CMS Mathematical Competitions Committee. "It should
be noted that Canadian students do very well even though in many countries
high school finishes at age 19."
    The six students will be attending a special IMO Training Camp at the
University of Calgary and at the Banff International Research Station (BIRS)
in Banff, Alberta from June 26 to July 12, 2009 and the IMO Team Send-off
Luncheon will be held on Monday, June 29th at 12:00 PM. The media can meet the
team at 11:00 AM on June 29th in the Rozsa Center, University of Calgary. The
team will leave for Germany on July 12 and will return to Canada on July 22,
    The Imperial Oil Foundation (IOF) is the Major Sponsor of the Canadian
IMO team. In addition to the IOF and the Canadian Mathematical Society,
sponsors of the 2009 Canadian IMO team include: Sun Life Financial; NSERC
PromoScience; the Banff International Research Station; the Samuel Beatty
Fund; Maplesoft; Nelson Thomson Learning; John Wiley and Sons Canada Ltd; A.K.
Peters Ltd; the Ontario Ministry of Education; Alberta Learning; Manitoba
Education, Citizenship and Youth; Nova Scotia Department of Education; the
Newfoundland and Labrador Ministry of Education; the Northwest Territories
Ministry of Education; the Saskatchewan Ministry of Education; Centre de
recherches mathématiques; the Fields Institute; the Pacific Institute for the
Mathematical Sciences; the Department of Mathematics, University of British
Columbia; the Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Calgary;
the Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Dalhousie University; the
Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Ottawa; the Department
of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Regina; the Department of
Mathematics, University of Toronto; the Centre for Education in Mathematics
and Computing, University of Waterloo; the Department of Statistics,
University of Waterloo; and the Department of Mathematics and Statistics, York

For further information:

For further information: Dr. Graham P. Wright, Executive Director,
Canadian Mathematical Society, (613) 733-2662, Ext. 713, Cel: (613) 290-3046,
director@cms.math.ca; Dr. Neal Madras, Chair - MCC Committee, Department of
Mathematics and Statistics, York University, (416)-736-5250,

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890