40th Canadian Mathematical Olympiad winners

    OTTAWA, May 26 /CNW Telbec/ - Eight students receive top honours in the
40th Canadian Mathematical Olympiad (CMO). The CMO, Canada's premier
mathematics competition, is organized and administered by the Canadian
Mathematical Society (CMS). A total of 96 students from 58 schools wrote the
2008 CMO, selected on the basis of their performance in the 2007 Sun Life
Financial Canadian Open Mathematics Challenge (COMC) (November 21, 2007), the
CMS Correspondence Training Programme and other mathematics competitions.
Students had to solve five difficult questions during the three-hour 2008 CMO
examination held on March 26, 2008.
    "Preparing for the Olympiad gives students the opportunity to explore
mathematics beyond the regular curriculum. The candidates become very
knowledgeable and skilled at mathematics, and I congratulate the winners of
this year's Canadian Mathematical Olympiad." said Dr. Edward Barbeau,
University of Toronto, and Chair of the CMS Canadian Mathematical Olympiad

    2008 Prize Winners: The top winners in the 40th Canadian Mathematical
    Olympiad are:

    FIRST PRIZE and the Sun Life Financial Cup - Chen Sun, A.B. Lucas
Secondary School, London, ON; SECOND PRIZE - Jonathan Schneider, University of
Toronto Schools, Toronto, ON; THIRD PRIZE - Yan Li, Dr. Norman Bethune
Collegiate Institute, Toronto, ON; HONOURABLE MENTIONS were awarded to:
Dimitri Dziabenko, Don Mills Collegiate Institute, Toronto, ON; Neil Gurram,
Indus Center for Academic Excellence, Troy, MI, USA; XiaoLin Shi, Sir Winston
Churchill High School, Calgary, AB; Chengyue (Jarno) Sun, Western Canada High
School, Calgary, AB; and Tianyao Zhang, Sir John A. Macdonald Collegiate
Institute, Toronto, ON.
    Over 7300 students wrote the 2007 Sun Life Financial Canadian Open
Mathematics Challenge and the winners of the 2007 Open and the 2008 CMO will
be honoured at the CMS Awards Banquet which will take place in the Festival
Ballroom, South Campus Hall, University of Waterloo, on Thursday, June 12,
2008, from 5:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
    "All of these winners have done extremely well in a very challenging
competition. The students who participate in these competitions develop the
creative problem-solving skills so valuable in today's workplace." said
Dr. Graham Wright, Executive Director, Canadian Mathematical Society.
    The Society is very grateful for the support received from Sun Life
Financial; Alberta Learning; Department of Education (New Brunswick); the
Department of Education (Newfoundland and Labrador); the Department of
Education (Northwest Territories); the Department of Education (Nova Scotia);
the Ministry of Education (Ontario); the Department of Education
(Saskatchewan); Nelson Thomson Learning; John Wiley and Sons Canada Ltd.; A.K.
Peters Ltd.; Maplesoft; the Department of Mathematics, University of Toronto;
the Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Ottawa; the
Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Calgary; the
Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Regina; the Department
of Mathematics and Statistics, York University; the Centre for Education in
Mathematics and Computing, University of Waterloo; and the Department of
Mathematics, Wilfrid Laurier University.

    Problems, solutions and other contest information are available at:


For further information:

For further information: Dr. Graham P. Wright, Canadian Mathematical
Society Executive Director, director@cms.math.ca, (613) 562-5702; Dr. Edward
Barbeau, Chair, CMS Canadian Mathematical Olympiad Committee, Department of
Mathematics, University of Toronto, barbeau@math.toronto.edu, (416) 653-1961

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890