2008 OPSBA Awards Recipients

    TORONTO, June 23 /CNW/ - The Ontario Public School Boards' Association
(OPSBA) Awards Program recognizes outstanding contributions to public
education made by individuals from across Ontario. While it is impossible to
honour all those dedicated people who make a difference, the recipients of
these awards represent the many who work tirelessly and unselfishly to make
our schools and education system better. The Dr. Harry Paikin Award of Merit
for outstanding service as public school trustee was awarded to Dalton Clark,
trustee with the District School Board of Niagara. In his nomination, Director
of Education Warren Hoshizaki wrote, "Dalton has consistently turned his
vision into reality for students. While serving as Board Chair in 2005, he
championed an initiative to both track and retain students at risk of leaving
school early. For these students who often felt invisible, Dalton's interest
in their potential made all the difference. The program resulted in the
successful graduation of hundreds of students, and opening doors to their
future that would have otherwise been closed."
    The annual award has been presented since 1987 as a memorial to Dr. Harry
Paikin, a trustee for the Board of Education for the City of Hamilton from
1944 until his death in 1985.
    The Fred L. Bartlett Memorial Award is presented annually for outstanding
contribution to education throughout Ontario by an active or retired member of
the teaching profession. This year's recipient is Rod Peturson, recently
retired Superintendent of Education at the Greater Essex County District
School Board.
    Secondary school students Chelsea Geen, Moira Secondary School, Hastings
and Prince Edward District School Board, and Dana Vanthof, Englehart High
School, DSB Ontario North East were co-recipients of the Jack A. MacDonald
Award of Merit. Chelsea and Dana have been recognized for their top-ranking
academic achievements, leadership, and inspiring school and community service.
    Four individuals were recognized for their outstanding efforts in public
education with the OPSBA Achievement Award. The awards were given to Kate
Tinkler, educational assistant, Crestview Public School, and Michael Young,
donator and alumni, Sir Winston Churchill C. & V.I., Lakehead District School
Board. The OPSBA Achievement Award was also presented to Barb Sully, Dr. Emily
Stowe Public School, and Barbara Hepburn, C.R. Gummow Public School, Kawartha
Pine Ridge District School Board.

    The Ontario Public School Boards' Association represents 1.2 million
students who attend public schools across the province. The Association
believes that the role of public education is to provide universally
accessible education opportunities for all students regardless of their
ethnic, racial or cultural backgrounds, social or economic status, individual
exceptionality, or religious preference.

For further information:

For further information: Jeff Sprang, Communications, (416) 340-2540

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890