2008 British Columbia Innovation Council Award Winners Announced

    B.C. to Celebrate Innovation Champions Inspiring Leaders of the Future


    VANCOUVER, Sept. 10 /CNW/ - The British Columbia Innovation Council
(BCIC) is pleased to announce the 2008 British Columbia Innovation Council
Award Winners-innovation champions who are setting the path for B.C.'s bright
future, announced Hector MacKay-Dunn, QC, Chair of BCIC.

    "These innovation leaders are an inspiration that speaks to the
exceptional achievements emerging in British Columbia," said Ida Chong,
Minister of Technology, Trade and Economic Development and Minister
Responsible for the Asia-Pacific Initiative. "It is with great pleasure that I
congratulate the 2008 British Columbia Innovation Council Award Winners. Their
successes bring forward real-world solutions benefiting communities throughout
British Columbia."

    Recipients of this award will be honoured at the 2008 BCIC Awards on
September 29th at The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver. Held annually, the event is
the culmination of BCIC's Innovation Exploration program, a 3-day opportunity
for 80 of B.C.'s top high school science fair winners to explore careers and
meet leading experts in B.C.'s science and technology fields. Together,
Innovation Exploration and the 2008 BCIC Awards celebrate excellence in
innovation and the leading-edge innovators building a strong future for B.C.

    The 2008 BCIC Award Winners are:

    Dr. Larry Goldenberg, BC Science and Technology Champion of the Year

    As Professor and Head of the Department of Urologic Sciences at the
University of British Columbia and Clinical Research Director of the Prostate
Centre at Vancouver General Hospital, Dr. Larry Goldenberg has contributed
significantly to championing research by raising funds to create the
infrastructure for the state of the art facility-a leading national Centre for
Excellence in prostate research, education and healthcare delivery programs.

    Mr. Jack Kobelt, Cecil Green Award for Technology Entrepreneurship

    As President of Kobelt Manufacturing Ltd., Jack Kobelt has a
long-standing reputation as a successful industrial innovator and
entrepreneur. His innovative achievements have significantly enhanced the
safety and efficiency of all vessels and crews in extremely hazardous
waterways across the globe.

    Dr. Christopher Garrett, Chairman's Award for Career Achievement

    As Lansdowne Professor of Physics and Astronomy at University of
Victoria, Dr. Chris Garrett is a world-renown physical oceanographer with an
exceptional scientific mind and ardent desire to protect and improve the
health of the world's coastal areas. His body of work contributes to the
accuracy of climate-change models and addresses the problems in marine
productivity, pollution, tidal power, and oceanic waste disposal.

    Mr. Gordon Gore, Eve Savory Award for Science Communication

    As Founder of the BIG Little Science Centre in Kamloops, B.C., Gordon
Gore is a retired science teacher who has dedicated his life to spreading
science education to audiences of all ages. With numerous achievements to
communicating science education, his contributions have been significant in
inspiring audiences of all ages to have fun with science.

    Dr. Marco Marra, Frontiers in Research Award

    As Director of the Canada's Michael Smith Genome Sciences Centre,
Dr. Marco Marra is an internationally renowned expert in physical mapping and
genome sequencing. His work focuses on cancer research, but his contributions
also address other areas with global impact, including his work with the Human
Genome Project and the sequencing of the SARS coronavirus.

    Drs. James Olson, Robert Gooding, Mark Martinez, and Carl Ollivier-Gooch,
Lieutenant Governor's Technology Innovation Award

    As Associate Professors at the University of British Columbia, Drs. James
Olson, Mark Martinez and Carl Ollivier-Gooch teamed up with Dr. Robert
Gooding, Technology Vice President at Advanced Fiber Technologies to develop a
low-energy pulp screen rotor technology called the Gladiator HC(TM) rotor, an
invention revolutionizing Canada's pulp and paper industry.

    Dr. Karl Otto, Young Innovator Award

    As a Medical Physicist at the BC Cancer Agency, Dr. Karl Otto is a
committed physicist whose accomplishments in cancer research and treatment are
paving the way for a bright and flourishing career. He has contributed several
novel advances enabling increased precision in the delivery of
radiotherapy-improving cancer treatment and quality of care for patients
around the world.

    For full details about the Award Winners, visit:

    Photo and Interview Opportunity:

    September 29, 2008 at 4:30 pm at The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver. Please
contact Stephanie Leung, Communications Coordinator, BCIC, at the below listed
contact for media accreditation and to schedule interviews.

    Media Material:

    To download the 2008 BCIC Awards Media Kit  (high-resolution photos,
complete award winner biographies, and student innovator biographies), visit:

    Video footage will be made available upon request.

    About BCIC

    The British Columbia Innovation Council (BCIC) is the lead organization
charged with advancing innovation and commercialization in British Columbia.
BCIC is focused on accelerating the growth of our science and technology
communities and competitively positioning British Columbia in the global
science and technology economy in order to provide significant employment
opportunities and a high standard of living for British Columbians.

    For more information about BCIC, visit www.bcic.ca.

For further information:

For further information: Stephanie Leung, Communications Coordinator,
British Columbia, Innovation Council, (604) 602-5249, 1-800-665-7222,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890