2007 CFPC Medical Student Scholarship Recipients Announced

    MISSISSAUGA, ON, Oct. 18 /CNW/ - At its annual Family Medicine Forum, The
College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) honoured sixteen of Canada's top
medical students who have career intentions in family medicine with the
College's highest scholastic award, the CFPC Medical Student Scholarships.
    "The students honoured here today represent the future of family
medicine, and it is indeed a bright future," said CFPC President, Dr. Ruth
Wilson. "We commend these outstanding medical students for their academic
achievements and look forward to having them as colleagues delivering high
quality health care to the people of Canada."
    One student from each Canadian medical school is awarded a $10,000
scholarship plus travel and expenses to attend the Family Medicine Forum 2007,
the CFPC's annual national scientific assembly hosted this year in Winnipeg,
    The CFPC Medical Student Scholarships are made possible through the
generous support of Scotiabank.
    "At Scotiabank, we believe very strongly in supporting the communities
where we live and work," said Kyle McNamara, Head of Small Business,
Scotiabank. "This year's award winners will provide valuable contributions to
the communities and patients they serve and we are very pleased to help them
pursue their goals in family medicine."

    The 2007 recipients of the CFPC Medical Student Scholarships are:

    -   Colette Dawson, Memorial University of Newfoundland
    -   Jennifer Sinclair, Dalhousie University
    -   Gabriel Rebick, McGill University
    -   Stéphanie Morel, Université Laval
    -   Raphael Paris, Université de Sherbrooke
    -   Dori Shiff, Université de Montréal
    -   Meghan Cusack, University of Ottawa
    -   Katie Ann Forfar, Queen's University
    -   Ferhan Siddiqi, University of Toronto
    -   Salma Rawof, McMaster University
    -   Clarissa Holding, University of Western Ontario
    -   Michael Isaac, University of Manitoba
    -   Michelle Lacasse, University of Saskatchewan
    -   Brienne McLane, University of Calgary
    -   Brenda Nakashima, University of Alberta
    -   Jennifer Anne Barley, University of British Columbia

    The scholarships were presented on Saturday, October 13, 2007 at the
Keynote session on the third day of Family Medicine Forum 2007, held in
Winnipeg during Family Doctor Week in Canada October 8 - 13, 2007.

    Bios of the 2007 CFPC Medical Student Scholarship recipients:


    About CFPC
    The College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) is the voice of family
medicine in Canada. Representing 19,450 members across the country, it is the
professional organization responsible for establishing standards for the
training, certification and lifelong education of family physicians and for
advocating on behalf of the specialty of family medicine, family physicians
and their patients. The CFPC accredits postgraduate family medicine training
in Canada's 17 medical schools.

    (disponible en français)

For further information:

For further information: Jayne Johnston, Communications Manager, The
College of Family Physicians of Canada, (905) 629-0900 ext 303,
jjohnston@cfpc.ca, www.cfpc.ca

Organization Profile

College of Family Physicians of Canada

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890