2006/2007 Donner Prize winner announced

    Compelling book wins $35,000 and argues Canada unlikely to abandon the

    TORONTO, April 25 /CNW/ - The winner of the prestigious Donner Prize, the
award for best book on Canadian public policy, was announced this evening by
Allan Gotlieb, Chairman of the Donner Canadian Foundation, at an awards dinner
at the Carlu. This is the ninth year for this acclaimed prize, which is
awarded annually.
    The $35,000 Donner Prize was awarded to Eric Helleiner for his book
TOWARDS NORTH AMERICAN MONETARY UNION? The Politics and History of Canada's
Exchange Rate Regime, published by McGill-Queen's University Press. Described
by the Donner jury as "a gracefully written and absorbing book," TOWARDS NORTH
AMERICAN MONETARY UNION? provides an excellent historical and analytical
account of Canada's exchange rate policies since 1850.
    "TOWARDS NORTH AMERICAN MONETARY UNION? gives an exceptional examination
of how Canada came to have only one currency for domestic use," said jury
Chairman Grant Reuber. He went on to say, "Helleiner successfully combines a
clear understanding of the issues, with a strong analytical ability that
illuminates the political and historical context of the time. He brings to his
subject an unusual degree of understanding of both economics and politics."
    TOWARDS NORTH AMERICAN MONETARY UNION?, hailed as "a remarkable and
compelling work" by this year's jury, explores Canada's unusually strong
commitment throughout the twentieth century to a floating exchange rate for
its national currency. And while many believe that Canada's deepening economic
integration with the United States and the worldwide trend towards currency
blocs will eventually lead to a North American monetary union, Helleiner
challenges this view and finds little support in the U.S. for the concessions
that would be necessary to make a North American monetary union palatable in
    Eric Helleiner is chair of international public policy, Centre for
International Governance Innovation in the Department of Political Science at
the University of Waterloo. He is the author of several books including States
and the Re-emergence of Global Finance and The Making of National Money:
Territorial Currencies in Historical Perspective.
    The winner was chosen from 65 submissions and a shortlist of three, by a
five-member jury: Grant L. Reuber (Chairman), George E. Connell, Ronald J.
Daniels, Claude E. Forget and Denis Stairs.
    The other nominated titles, which received $5,000 each, were: DREAMLAND:
How Canada's Pretend Foreign Policy Has Undermined Sovereignty by Roy Rempel
(Breakout Educational Network) and VISITING GRANDCHILDREN: Economic
Development in the Maritimes by Donald J. Savoie (University of Toronto
    Last year's winner of the $35,000 Donner Prize was Mark Jaccard for his
compelling and controversial book SUSTAINABLE FOSSIL FUELS: The Unusual
Suspect in the Quest for Clean and Enduring Energy (Cambridge University
    The call for submissions for the 2007/2008, 10th Anniversary prize will
go out in September 2007.

For further information:

For further information: or to book an interview, please contact Sherry
Naylor, Meisner Publicity at (416) 368-8253 or e-mail
sherry@meisnerpublicity.com, www.donnerbookprize.com

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890