11th Annual Donner Prize winner announced

    A clarion call to all Canadians about our endangered Arctic region takes
    home $35,000 prize.

    TORONTO, April 30 /CNW/ - The winner of the prestigious Donner Prize, an
annual award for best book on Canadian public policy, was announced this
evening by Allan Gotlieb, the Chairman of the Donner Canadian Foundation, at a
gala awards dinner at the Carlu.
    Ken S. Coates, P. Whitney Lackenbauer, William R. Morrison & Greg Poelzer
were awarded the $35,000 prize for Arctic Front: Defending Canada in the Far
North, published by Thomas Allen Publishers. The authors were also presented
with a Claire Brunet brass sculpture that has been a part of the Donner Prize
since its inception in 1998.
    "An integrated volume by four of Canada's leading Northern specialists,
each author's expertise has enriched the text; a very useful, topical and
policy-relevant book. Unquestionably, this book deals with a subject of major
public importance and interest," said Jury Chairman Grant Reuber, "This is a
substantial and accessible book that should be widely read by everyone
interested in an insightful introduction to this subject."

    Ken S. Coates was short-listed for the Donner Prize in 2000 for The
    Marshall Decision and Native Rights (McGill-Queen's University Press). He
    is currently Professor of History and Dean of Arts, University of

    P. Whitney Lackenbauer is an Assistant Professor of History at St.
    Jerome's University, University of Waterloo.

    William R. Morrison is Professor of History, University of Northern
    British Columbia.

    Greg Poelzer is the founding Dean of Undergraduate Studies for the
    University of the Arctic and an Associate Professor of Political Science,
    University of Saskatchewan.

    The other nominated titles, each of which received $5,000 each, were:

    Chasing a Mirage: The Tragic Illusion of an Islamic State by Tarek Fatah
    (John Wiley & Sons, Canada)

    Fixing the Future: How Canada's Usually Fractious Governments Worked
    Together to Rescue the Canada Pension Plan by Bruce Little (Rotman /
    University of Toronto Press Publishing)

    The Limits of Boundaries: Why City-regions Cannot be Self-governing by
    Andrew Sancton (McGill-Queen's University Press)

    Disrobing the Aboriginal Industry: The Deception Behind Indigenous
    Cultural Preservation by Frances Widdowson & Albert Howard (McGill-
    Queen's University Press)

    Last year's winner of the $35,000 Donner Prize was David E. Smith for his
book The People's House of Commons: Theories of Democracy in Contention,
published by University of Toronto Press.
    The winner of the Donner Prize was chosen from an impressive list of 69
submissions and a shortlist of five by a five-member jury: Grant L. Reuber
(chairman), Claude E. Forget, V. Peter Harder, A. Anne McLellan and Denis
    "I have been on the Donner Jury since its inception and over the years,
have been consistently impressed at the quality and variety of books that are
submitted for the prize. Winning the Donner Prize is a career highlight for
many of the authors. I am delighted that I have been able to bring these
issues to the public's attention as a member of the Donner jury," said Grant
    The Donner Foundation wishes to thank Grant L. Reuber for his dedication
and commitment to the Donner Prize over the past eleven years. Reuber has
announced that it will be his last year as Jury Chair.
    Allan Gotlieb also announced today that Anne McLellan has been selected
as Jury Chair for the 12th annual Donner Prize. The call for submissions for
the 2009/2010 Donner Prize will go out in September 2009.

    The Donner Prize annually rewards excellence and innovation in Canadian
public policy writing; inspiring lively debate on public policy issues and
rewarding provocative and excellent work that speaks to an informed readership
and an open exchange of ideas and public debate. In bestowing this award, the
Donner Canadian Foundation seeks to broaden policy debates, increase general
awareness of the importance of policy decision making and make an original and
meaningful contribution to policy discourse.

For further information:

For further information: Debby De Groot, Meisner, de Groot & Associates,
Phone: (416) 363-1448, E-mail: debby@mdgassociates.com,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890