Writers' Trust Names Year's Five Best Political Books: Anna Porter, Lawrence Martin, Doug Saunders among Finalists for Shaughnessy Cohen Prize

TORONTO, Jan. 5 /CNW/ - The Writers' Trust of Canada announces the finalists for the $25,000 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing. The winner will be named in Ottawa on February 16, 2011, at the Politics and the Pen Gala.

Finalists include a double biography of key Canadian military officials prominent in the Great War, a history of sovereignty in the North American Arctic, an examination of the growth of executive power under Stephen Harper's Conservative government, an exploration of the consequences of democracy and capitalism in four nations of Central Europe, and a look at how rural to urban migration is reshaping our world. Each nominated author will receive $2,500.

The finalists, selected by a jury composed of journalists L. Ian MacDonald, Rosemary Speirs, and Paul Wells, are:

Tim Cook for The Madman and the Butcher: The Sensational Wars of Sam Hughes and General Arthur Currie, published by Allen Lane Canada

Shelagh D. Grant for Polar Imperative: A History of Arctic Sovereignty in North America, published by Douglas & McIntyre

Lawrence Martin for Harperland: The Politics of Control, published by Viking Canada

Anna Porter for The Ghosts of Europe: Journeys Through Central Europe's Troubled Past and Uncertain Future, published by Douglas & McIntyre

Doug Saunders for Arrival City: The Final Migration and our Next World, published by Knopf Canada

The Shaughnessy Cohen Prize is sponsored by CTV Inc. and supported by the Politics and the Pen gala. For more information on this year's finalists and to download high-resolution images of the nominated authors and their books, visit writerstrust.com.

About the Prize
Now in its eleventh year, the prize is awarded annually to a non-fiction book that captures a political subject of interest to Canadian readers and enhances our understanding of the issue. The winning work combines compelling new insights with depth of research and is of significant literary merit. Strong consideration is given to books that, in the opinion of the jury, have the potential to shape or influence Canadian political life.

About Shaughnessy Cohen
The Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing was established in honour of the outspoken and popular Member of Parliament from Windsor, Ontario, who died on December 9, 1998.

About Politics and the Pen
Politics and the Pen is the highlight of the capital's winter social calendar and an important annual fundraising event benefiting the Writers' Trust. Held at the Fairmont Château Laurier, the event attracts 500 guests from the city's political and literary circles. Microsoft Canada sponsors the Politics and the Pen dinner, and MTS Allstream Inc. sponsors the Politics and the Pen pre-dinner and post-dinner receptions.

About the Writers' Trust
The Writers' Trust of Canada is a charitable organization that supports Canadian writers and writing through various programs, including literary awards, financial grants, scholarships, and a writers' retreat. Canada's writers receive more financial support from the Writers' Trust than from any other non-governmental organization or foundation in the country. For more information visit writerstrust.com or twitter.com/writerstrust.

SOURCE The Writers' Trust of Canada

For further information:

and interview opportunities, contact:
National Media:Becky Toyne (416-871-0502, btoyne@writerstrust.com)
Ottawa Media:Stephanie Farrington (613-263-1350, stephanie.farrington@gmail.com)

Profil de l'entreprise

The Writers' Trust of Canada

Renseignements sur cet organisme

News - Media

Renseignements sur cet organisme


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.