Statement by the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, on the Occasion of the 2011 Governor General's Literary Awards

OTTAWA, Nov. 15, 2011 /CNW/ - Canadian literature is an essential part of our country's cultural identity. Our writers craft the works that inspire us, and create memorable experiences for readers in Canada and around the world. Today, the Canada Council for the Arts honoured 14 of these gifted artists, in announcing the winners of the Governor General's Literary Awards for 2011.

For 75 years, the Governor General's Literary Awards have honoured the best of our literature, in both official languages. These prestigious awards are presented annually in seven categories: fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, children's literature (text), children's literature (illustration), and translation.

Our Government is proud to invest in Canadian writers, and on this 75th anniversary of the Governor General's Literary Awards, we welcome the opportunity to celebrate both our national book awards and our country's literary excellence.

On behalf of Prime Minister Stephen Harper and the Government of Canada, I would like to congratulate all of this year's winners and finalists. I also encourage Canadians throughout the country to join in celebrating the 75th anniversary of the Governor General's Literary Awards—and 75 years of great Canadian books.

For the full list of winners, visit the website of the Canada Council for the Arts.

SOURCE Canadian Heritage

For further information:

(media only), please contact:

Sébastien Gariépy
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage 
and Official Languages


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.