Rosie DiManno - winner of the 2011 Ross Munro Media Award

OTTAWA, Sept. 19, 2011 /CNW/ - The Conference of Defence Associations (CDA), in concert with the Canadian Defence and Foreign Affairs Institute (CDFAI), is pleased to announce that Rosie DiManno of the Toronto Star has been selected as the recipient of the 2011 Ross Munro Media Award. The selection committee was unanimous in its decision.

In the best tradition of Canadian journalists - like Ross Munro himself - Rosie DiManno repeatedly puts herself on the troubled or exploding front-lines, most recently in Afghanistan and Libya, and describes events so effectively that we not only get their flavour but we also appreciate some greater issues and options at play. Rosie DiManno's ability to educate and inform the public as to why Canada engages in conflict has earned her tremendous praise from colleagues and readers. In circumstances where most mortals would be striving just to survive, she portrays events and their origins, and subtly raises our awareness of lessons to be learned and at what expense.

A long-time reporter with the Toronto Star, Rosie DiManno has a distinguished history of reporting on security and defence issues, and a deep dedication to pursuing the story irrespective of the risks. DiManno's exceptional journalism informs Canadians with a depth, breadth and incisiveness which enrich her thorough research and hard-won experience. This year Rosie DiManno spent extended periods of time not only in Afghanistan but also in Libya, travelling with the rebels and later reporting from Tripoli, surrounded by government minders.

The Ross Munro Media Award was initiated in 2002 to recognize Canadian journalists who have made a significant and extraordinary contribution to increasing public understanding of Canadian defence and security issues. Recipients of the award have produced outstanding work regarding the efforts of the Canadian Forces in preserving Canadian democratic values. The award consists of a replica of the Ross Munro statue and a cheque for $2,500. Previous recipients of the award are Stephen Thorne, Garth Pritchard, Sharon Hobson, Bruce Campion-Smith, Christie Blatchford, Matthew Fisher, Alec Castonguay, Brian Stewart and Murray Brewster.

The selection committee was chaired by Lieutenant-General (Ret'd) Richard J. Evraire, Chairman CDA. Members of the Selection Committee were Dr. J.L. Granatstein, Canadian Military Historian; Mr. Alec Castonguay, journalist for L'actualité magazine; Mr. Stuart Robertson, of O'Donnell, Robertson & Sanfilippo; and, Colonel (Ret'd) Charles Keple, Vice-Chairman CDA (Public Affairs).

The Award will be presented during the CDA Institute's Vimy Dinner, which will be held on Friday, November 18, 2011 in the LeBreton Gallery of the Canadian War Museum in Ottawa, Ontario.

SOURCE Conference of Defence Associations

For further information:

Conference of Defence Associations
Telephone: (613) 236-1252

Profil de l'entreprise

Conference of Defence Associations

Renseignements sur cet organisme


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.