Longlist announced for one of Canada's largest non-fiction prizes

VANCOUVER, Nov. 2, 2011 /CNW/ - The jury for the BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction, one of Canada's largest literary non-fiction prizes, has released its longlist of finalists for 2012.

One hundred and thirty-four books were nominated for the $40,000 prize by 35 publishers from across the country. From that entry, the prize jury has selected the following longlist of ten books.

Afflictions & Departures Madeline Sonik Anvil Press
Bad Animals: A Father's Accidental Education in Autism Joel Yanofsky Viking Canada
Captivity: 118 Days in Iraq and the Struggle for a World Without War James Loney Knopf Canada
The Chimps of Fauna Sanctuary: A Canadian Story of Resilience and Recovery Andrew Westoll HarperCollins Canada
Decade of Fear: Reporting from Terrorism's Grey Zone Michelle Shephard Douglas & McIntyre
Eating Dirt: Deep Forests, Big Timber, and Life with the Tree-Planting Tribe Charlotte Gill Greystone Books
Human Happiness Brian Fawcett Thomas Allen Publishers
The Leap: How to Survive and Thrive in the Sustainable Economy Chris Turner Random House Canada
Nation Maker: Sir John A. Macdonald:
His Life, Our Times
Volume Two: 1867-1891
Richard Gwyn Random House Canada
Something Fierce: Memoirs of a Revolutionary Daughter Carmen Aguirre Douglas & McIntyre

"We owe the jury a great debt of thanks for their hard work in arriving at this stimulating list of finalists," said Foundation Chair Keith Mitchell. "Canada's authors continue to inspire, engage, and enlighten and this year's nominated titles well reflect our tradition of truly remarkable literary non-fiction."

The finalists for the BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction will be announced December 5, 2011. The award presentation will take place on Feb. 6, 2012 in Vancouver.

The Foundation is also pleased to announce the jury for the 2012 British Columbia Award for Canadian Non-Fiction.

Paul Whitney served as City Librarian at Vancouver Public Library until his retirement at the end of 2010. He currently consults and teaches on libraries, publishing, and related public policy issues.

Patricia Graham, Patricia Graham was the editor-in-chief of The Vancouver Sun for eight years. In October, she became Vice President, Digital, for Pacific Newspaper Group, publishers of The Vancouver Sun and The Province.

Shari Graydon is the author of two award-winning media literacy books for youth, the editor of I Feel Great About My Hands, and the catalyst of Informed Opinions, a project to bridge the gender gap in public discourse.

Previous winners of the BC Award include:

  • John Vaillant for The Tiger (2011)
  • Ian Brown for The Boy in the Moon (2010)
  • Russell Wangersky for Burning Down the House (2009)
  • Lorna Goodison for From Harvey River (2008)
  • Noah Richler for This Is My Country, What's Yours? (2007)
  • Rebecca Godfrey for Under the Bridge (2006)
  • Patrick Lane for There Is a Season (2005)

The BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction is presented by the British Columbia Achievement Foundation, an independent foundation established and endowed by the Province of British Columbia in 2003 to celebrate excellence in the arts, humanities, enterprise and community service. This is the eighth year in which the award will be presented.

For more information on the British Columbia National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction and on submission guidelines, please visit www.bcachievement.com.

SOURCE British Columbia Achievement Foundation

For further information:

Contact: Nora Newlands
British Columbia Achievement Foundation

Profil de l'entreprise

British Columbia Achievement Foundation

Renseignements sur cet organisme


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.