SAINT JOHN, NB, June 8, 2011 /CNW/ - The Canadian Public Relations Society (CPRS) selected Colleen Killingsworth MCM, APR, FCPRS, principal, CK Communications and interim associate vice-president of communications at the University of Calgary as the recipient of the 2011 Philip A. Novikoff Memorial Award. Killingsworth was recognized for superior and outstanding service over time as a public relations professional. She received a certificate and cash award amongst her peers at the CPRS national conference awards gala in Saint John, N.B. on June 7.

Established in 1989 in memory of the long-time CPRS member, the late Philip A. Novikoff, the award is given to an accredited CPRS member who has furthered the standing of the public relations profession in Canada. The recipient contributes to the enhancement of CPRS and the betterment of the community. Nominations are made by a current accredited CPRS member and endorsed by three additional current accredited CPRS members.

"Colleen's contribution to CPRS, the public relations profession and the community over the past decade can simply not be overstated," said Richard Truscott, APR one of Killingsworth's nominators for the award. "Her role in leading the development of the new Pathways to the Profession initiative is just the latest example of her tireless leadership, dedication and service. I'm thrilled to have the privilege of nominating Colleen for the Society's highest honour."

Killingsworth's contribution to public relations and to the community includes:

  • Spearheading the Pathways to the Profession initiative

  • Serving on the CPRS National Board from 2000-2009

  • Serving as National President from 2005-2007

  • Being the recipient of the CPRS Lamp of Service Award in 2002 for her leadership on the Accreditation Implementation Task Force and again in 2004 for her leadership on the Governance Task Force

"Her demonstrated performance and devotion to the PR field and to the development of the profession is singularly outstanding," said Robin Alford, APR, Awards Committee judge. "With her passion and drive, she has contributed to the future of our profession in ways that cannot yet be measured…If Colleen is not a worthy recipient, then I do not know who else is."

The Philip A. Novikoff Award was one of three Major Awards presented at this year's awards gala. The Major Awards recognize exceptional involvement in the public relations profession and candidates are nominated by peers. The awards are judged by the Awards Committee Presiding Officers in consultation with the National President.

About CPRS

Founded in 1948, the Canadian Public Relations Society (CPRS) is a not-for-profit organization whose members are engaged in the practice, management or teaching of public relations. Members work to maintain the highest standards and to share a uniquely Canadian experience in public relations. CPRS is a federation of over 1,800 members across 16 Member Societies based in major cities or organized province-wide.  For more information, visit our website:

SOURCE Canadian Public Relations Society

For further information:


Karen Dalton APR

Executive Director



Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.