IIROC 2011 Annual General Meeting: IIROC Members Approve Board of Directors and IIROC Board Appoints New Chair

TORONTO, Sept. 14, 2011 /CNW/ - At the Annual General Meeting of the Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC) held in Toronto, Ontario on September 13, 2011, member firms elected / re-elected eight individuals to the IIROC Board of Directors.

Four of the elected individuals are Industry Directors: Robert Blanchard, George Gosbee, Michelle Khalili and Tom Kloet. The other four are Independent Directors: Mike Gagné, Brian Heidecker, Daniel Muzyka and Eric Kirzner.

Six individuals who were elected to the Board at the 2010 AGM are now continuing with the second year of their two-year terms. These individuals include M. Marianne Harris, Yves Néron and Tal Cohen as Industry Directors, and Daniel Leclair, Gerry Rocchi and Grant Vingoe as Independent Directors.

At the Board meeting held on September 14, the Board appointed Gerry Rocchi as its new Chair. Doug McGregor is stepping down after completing two years as Chair. The Board also appointed Michelle Khalili as Vice-Chair, a position held by Gerry Rocchi since 2010.

IIROC's Board of Directors is comprised of 15 Directors, including the President and CEO, and an equal number of Independent and Industry Directors.

The current Board includes:

Independent Directors

Mike Gagné, Corporate Director
Eric Kirzner, John H. Watson Chair in Value Investing, Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto
Brian Heidecker, Corporate Director
Daniel Leclair, Corporate Director
Daniel Muzyka, Dean and Professor, University of British Columbia and Public Director
Gerry Rocchi, CEO, Green Power Action Inc.
Grant Vingoe, Partner, Arnold & Porter LLP

Industry Directors

Robert Blanchard, President, Haywood Securities Inc.
Tal Cohen, CEO, Chi-X Global
George Gosbee, Chairman, President and CEO, AltaCorp Capital Inc.
M. Marianne Harris, President, Corporate and Investment Banking, Merrill Lynch Canada Inc.
Michelle Khalili, Managing Director, Equity Capital Markets, CIBC World Markets
Thomas Kloet, CEO, TMX Group Inc.
Yves Néron, Senior Vice-President, Head of Private Client Services, Valeurs mobilières Desjardins (VMD)

President and CEO

Susan Wolburgh Jenah, President and CEO, IIROC

More information about IIROC's Board of Directors, its mandate and membership of its subcommittees (Corporate Governance; Finance and Audit; and Human Resources and Pension) is available on IIROC's website at http://www.iiroc.ca/English/About/Governance/Pages/default.aspx.


IIROC is the national self-regulatory organization which oversees all investment dealers and trading activity on debt and equity marketplaces in Canada.  Created in 2008 through the consolidation of the Investment Dealers Association of Canada and Market Regulation Services Inc., IIROC sets high quality regulatory and investment industry standards, protects investors and strengthens market integrity while maintaining efficient and competitive capital markets.  IIROC carries out its regulatory responsibilities through setting and enforcing rules regarding the proficiency, business and financial conduct of dealer firms and their registered employees and through setting and enforcing market integrity rules regarding trading activity on Canadian equity marketplaces.

SOURCE Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC) - General News

For further information:

Lucy Becker
Vice President, Public Affairs
    David Thomas
Director, Public Affairs


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.