Finalists named for B.C.'s Annual Journalism Awards

VANCOUVER, Sept. 6, 2011 /CNW/ - A selection of B.C.'s best journalists have been named as finalists for the 2011 Jack Webster Awards. Winners will be announced at the 25th annual Jack Webster Awards dinner on October 24th at the Hyatt Regency Hotel, Vancouver.

CTV's Lloyd Robertson is the featured speaker at the awards dinner and CBC's Gloria Macarenko and Tony Parsons take on this year's hosting duties. The 2011 Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to the Kamloops Daily News' Mel Rothenburger.


Best News Reporting of the Year - Print

  • Katie DeRosa, Victoria Times Colonist: Policing the Police
  • Katie DeRosa, Lindsay Kines, Jack Knox, Judith Lavoie, Les Leyne, Rob Shaw, Victoria Times Colonist: Robert Pickton and BC's Patchwork Policing
  • Sandra Thomas, Vancouver Courier: Series on Steeves Manor

Best News Reporting of the Year - Radio

  • Brett Mineer, CKNW: Whistler Sled Dog Killings
  • News Team, News1130: BC NDP Leadership Vote
  • Kim Seale, News1130: Double Plane Crash

Best News Reporting of the Year - Television

  • Rumina Daya, Ted Chernecki and News Team, Global BC: Miracle in Nevada
  • Hudson Mack, Shachi Kurl, Stephen Andrew, /A\ Vancouver Island: Migrant Ship Approaches
  • Eric Rankin, Lisa Johnson, Paisley Woodward, CBC News Vancouver: Mystery Money

Best Feature Story - Print

  • Ian Bailey, The Globe and Mail: One Big Idea series
  • Ros Guggi, John Fuller, Sam Cooper, Cheryl Chan, Arlen Redekop, Bill Keay, Ginger Sedlarova, Erik Rolfson, The Province: Our Growing Challenge
  • Denise Ryan, The Vancouver Sun: Very Few Men The Same As They Were Before

Best Feature Story - Radio

  • Dan Burritt, News1130: Chuck Davis Tribute
  • Yvonne Gall, CBC Radio: No Fixed Access
  • Pamela Post, CBC Radio: The Incredible Shrinking Man

Best Feature Story - Television

  • Linda Aylesworth, Sergio Magro, Darren Twiss, Global BC: Beyond Fair Trade: How Coffee Raised a Village
  • Curt Petrovich, Cedric Monteiro, Dennis Genereux, Michelle Billman, Bradley Stewart, CBC: Amanda's Story
  • Kelvin Redvers, CTV BC - First Story: Death of a Carver

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Multimedia Journalism

  • Cale Cowan, Philip Wolf, Walter Cordery, Shari Cummins, Chris Koehn, Derek Spalding, Paul Walton, Nanaimo Daily News: Nanaimo Daily News Live Election Debates
  • News Team, Japan Earthquake and Tsunami Coverage
  • Chad Skelton, Gillian Burnett, The Vancouver Sun: Daycare Rating Database

Jack Webster Business, Industry & Economics Award

Endowed by Jean Cormier

  • David Baines, The Vancouver Sun: Ontario Promoter Ruins Burnaby Woman
  • Joel McKay, Business in Vancouver: Chasing Prosperity
  • Daniel Wood, The Georgia Straight: Ye Olde Liquor Rules Still Sting

Best Reporting - Chinese Language

  • Audrea Chan, Chung En Lee, Magazine 26 Fairchild TV: The Forgotten Horizon
  • Audrea Chan, Magazine 26 Fairchild TV: Rethink Asia
  • Endora Fan, Johann Chang, Nelson Wong, Eric Lai, Joe Chan, Charles Mak Omni BC Television (Cantonese Edition): Earthquake Preparedness: Harm Reduction

Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting:

  • Jesse Ferreras, Pique Newsmagazine: Whistler Blackcomb Goes Public
  • Tyler Olsen, Chilliwack Times: Growing Concern
  • Jon Steinman, Kootenay Co-op Radio CJLY: Local Food Fraud? An Investigation

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism

Sponsored by the Law Society of BC

  • Louise Dickson, Times Colonist: Crisis in BC Courts
  • Bob Keating, CBC Radio Nelson: Banishment
  • Roberta Staley, The Georgia Straight: Crime and Injustice

Jack Webster Award for Science and Technology

  • Kelvin Redvers, CTV BC - First Story: Black Blood - Tainted Land, Dying Caribou
  • Randy Shore, Tiffany Crawford, Andrea Woo, Peter McKnight, Craig McInnes, Stephen Hume, Harvey Enchin, John Mackie, Mia Stainsby, Christina Frangou, The Vancouver Sun: Sugar Rush
  • Scott Simpson, The Vancouver Sun: MDA Eyes New Frontier in Space

Commentator of the Year

          Presented in memory of Linda Webster
Winner will be announced at the Jack Webster Awards Dinner

Tickets for the October 24th awards dinner at Hyatt Regency Vancouver can be ordered by calling 604-261-6184, by emailing or by visiting and following the dinner ticket link. Tickets are $165 per person or $1,650 for a table of 10. A portion of the dinner ticket price is tax deductible.

The Jack Webster Foundation, named after the late broadcaster who was Western Canada's best known and most influential reporter, was established in 1986 to recognize and encourage excellence in British Columbia journalism. The work of the Foundation is made possible by the generous sponsorship of BCLC, CGA Association, CN, Labatt Breweries, Fortis BC, HSBC Bank Canada, Teck, Port Metro Vancouver TELUS and Worksafe BC.

SOURCE Jack Webster Foundation

For further information:

Jack Webster Foundation Tel. 604-261-6184 Email: Website:


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.