Congratulations to the CAJ Awards finalists

OTTAWA, April 29 /CNW/ - The Canadian Association of Journalists is pleased to announce the finalists for its annual awards for outstanding investigative journalism in Canada for 2010.  Please note that some judging is still taking place so not all results are available yet.  Results for the following categories are pending and will be announced in a second release:

Print Feature
Open Television - less than 5 minutes

The winning entry in each category will receive a $500 cash prize.  The winners in each category will be announced May 14, 2011, at the CAJ Awards Banquet in Ottawa.

The Don McGillivray Award for the best 'overall' investigative report for 2010 will also be announced at the awards banquet.

Please note that the media outlet listed is where the finalist worked at the time their entry was broadcast/published or where the particular entry was broadcast/published. Finalists are listed alphabetically.

The finalists in the OPEN NEWSPAPER category are:

Dale Brazao and Moira Welsh
Retirement Home Squalor: How Can This Happen?
Toronto Star

David Bruser, Andrew Bailey, Michele Henry
Above the Law
Toronto Star

Steve Buist
Code Red
The Hamilton Spectator 

Helen Fallding
No Running Water
Winnipeg Free Press

Colin Perkel
One Bomb, Many Lives
The Canadian Press

The finalists in the COMMUNITY NEWSPAPER category are:

Steve Bonspiel
Mohawk council Turns up Heat on Non-Natives
The Eastern Door

Elliot Ferguson
Rebuilding Haiti
Woodstock Sentinel-Review

Cam Fortems
Mike Rink Story
Kamloops Daily News 

Gagandeep Ghuman
Playing with Fire
The Squamish Reporter

Gordon Hoekstra
Metis Property Sale and Offers
Prince George Citizen

The finalists in the OPEN TELEVISION (greater than 5 minutes) category are:

Lynn Burgess
Getting Away with Murder
CBC News: The National

Marie Caloz
Out of Control & Behind the Wall
CBC News: The fifth estate

John Kastner
Life With Murder
CTV/JS Kastner Productions

Emmanuel Marchand, Alain Gravel, Daniel Tremblay
Construction Mafia

Alex Shprintsen and Frederic Zalac
Dead Tired
CBC News: The National

The finalists in the REGIONAL TELEVISON category are:

Susana DaSilva, Lisa Johnson, Stephen Smart, Paisley Woodward
Appetite for Safety
CBC News: Vancouver

Deanne Fleet
The Winter Commission
CBC News: Newfoundland and Labrador

Alex Freedman and Vera-Lynn Kubinec
Photocopier Privacy
CBC News: Manitoba

Chris Goldrick and Simon Gardner
Contractor Investigation
CBC News: Ottawa

John Lancaster and Nazim Baksh
Death in a Community
CBC News: Toronto

The finalists in the OPEN RADIO NEWS/CURRENT AFFAIRS category are:

Scott Dippel
Power, Parties and the Paranoia at ENMAX
CBC Radio News - Calgary

Gino Harel
Culture 420

Robert Jones
Stalled Review
CBC Radio - New Brunswick  

Maureen Matthews
Wihtigo: Cree Ideas About Cannibalism
CBC Radio - Ideas

Curt Petrovich
Fake Jobs, Failed Dreams
CBC News: The World at Six

The winners in the CAJ/Marketwire COMPUTER-ASSISTED REPORTING (CAR) category are:

Jeff Outhit and Cherri Greeno
Calls of Duty
The Record

The finalists in the PHOTOJOURNALISM category are:

Joe Bryksa
No Running Water
Winnipeg Free Press 

Peter Power
Photojournalism Portfolio
The Globe and Mail

Louie Palu
The Cost of War
Zuma Press

The finalists in the MAGAZINE category are:

Alex Roslin
The Meat of the Matter
The Georgia Straight

Cecil Rosner
History Magazine

The finalists in the FAITH AND SPIRITUALITY category are:

Bob Keating
Those Who Trespass Against Us
CBC Radio, Nelson

Maureen Matthews
Wihtigo: Cree Ideas About Cannibals
CBC Radio - Ideas

Karen Pauls
Uncovering Hidden Graves
CBC News: The World at Six

Robert Sibley
Reborn From the Belly of the Earth
The Ottawa Citizen

Tiar Wilson
Big Dam
APTN National News

The finalists in the SCOOP category are:

Bruce Cheadle and Jim Bronskill
The Pardon of Graham James
The Canadian Press

Steven Edwards
Secret Khadr Plea Deal Revealed
Postmedia Network

Lindsay Kines and Les Leyne
The Pickton Report
Times Colonist

Margaret Munro
Ottawa's Media Rules Muzzling Federal Scientists
Postmedia News

Nicholas Stein, Diana Swain, Anita Mielewczyk
Accused Ponzi Schemer Won't be Prosecuted
CBC News: The National

The finalists in the DAILY EXCELLENCE category are:

Larissa Burnouf
First Nations University Crisis

Lisa Laflamme
G20: Weekend of Mayhem
CTV National News

Lee Pitts
Hurricane Igor
CBC News: Here and Now

Dave Seglins, Julie Crysler and David Mullan
Commander to Convict: The Russell Williams Story
CBC News: The World at Six

Connie Watson
Capsized School Ship: Survivor Stories
CBC News: The World This Weekend

The finalists for the CAJ/CNW Student Award of Excellence are:

Dylan C. Robertson
Sweeping changes proposed for A&S
University of Toronto

Aly Thomson, Jonathan Charlton, Geoff Davies, Casey Dorrell, Mike Gorman, Alan Hale, Kathleen Hunter, Jessica Ilse, Laura MacKenzie, Adam Miller, Jennifer Pawluck, Vincenzo Ravina, Lucy Scholey, Kyle Wells and James Whitehead
Terminal Disease
University of King's College Investigative Workshop

Stuart Thomson and Laura Osman
Heron Gate residents plead for help
Algonquin College

Congratulations to all our finalists so far.  Your work has been outstanding and we thank you for entering. We hope that you are able to attend this year's CAJ conference and/or awards gala to be held at the Sheraton Hotel Ottawa May 13-15.

The Canadian Association of Journalists is a professional organization with around 800 members across Canada. The CAJ's primary roles are public interest advocacy work and professional development for its members.

SOURCE Canadian Association of Journalists

For further information:

Mary Agnes Welch, CAJ president (204) 697-7590, cell (204) 470-8862
Hugo Rodrigues, CAJ Awards committee - 519-535-8680 cell


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.