Clark Awards to honour service of four University and community boosters

WINDSOR, ON, May 13 /CNW/ - A long-time community volunteer and a renowned automotive analyst who also served as a UWindsor board member are among four outstanding University and community supporters to be honoured with the 2011 Clark Award during a dinner in their honour this Tuesday, May 17, at 6:30 p.m. in the CAW's Ambassador Auditorium.

Clark Awards have been presented annually since 1994 and are named in honour of the late Charles J. Clark, O.C., Q.C., LL.D., former Chancellor of the University of Windsor. The award recognizes outstanding personal service of both alumni volunteers and friends of the University who have made significant commitments in time, energy and expertise by serving on University boards, committees or campaigns, or have worked extensively to increase the profile and reputation of the University.

The recipients for 2011 are:

Anna (Forsyth) Clark began her career at the Office of the Public Trustee in Toronto. Later, in Windsor with husband Charles, she worked at the British Consulate in Detroit during WWII, retiring at the end of the war to raise five children. Clark was a member of the Gladys E. Campbell Chapter of the Imperial Order of the Daughters of the Empire in Windsor, serving as Regent in 1963. She is also a long-time volunteer with the Windsor Symphony and a member of the Questers Historical Society of Windsor. She is a strong supporter of the University of Windsor, Assumption College and Canterbury College.

Dennis DesRosier (BA 1974) is one of North America's leading automotive industry analysts and founded DesRosiers Automotive Consultants in 1985. He has served on the University's Board of Governors, several committees and campaigns. In 2009, he established the "Endowment for the Advancement of Automotive Studies," funding it with more than $100,000 in proceeds from one of his books. He is a longstanding and generous supporter of the Alumni Association, providing time and sponsorships for many alumni events, and is an active member of the Toronto chapter.

Norbert Becker (BASc 1967, PhD 1970, PEng, FEC) is the founder and president of the Becker Engineering Group of companies, headquartered in Windsor. Dr. Becker has worked on challenging engineering assignments across North America, Africa, the Middle East, the Caribbean, South America and China. He has served the University as an adjunct professor and researcher, and mentored and hired UWindsor students. Becker, his family and the member companies of the Becker Engineering Group have supported the University's Annual Giving Program since its inception in 1985.

Dave Wilson (BComm 1961, MBA, FCA) is a UWindsor Faculty of Business professor emeritus, led the development of the Special BComm program and founded the Honorary Accounting Society. He served almost 10 years on the University's Senate and the Alumni Board of Directors and the Board of Windsor Western Hospital, five as its chair. After three years on the governing council of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Ontario he became its chief executive. Upon retiring as the institute's president and CEO, Wilson moved to Dublin where he served as a public representative on the Irish Ministry of Education and Science audit committee. He is currently Chair of the Irish Canadian Society. He has initiated three UWindsor endowments, two for nursing scholarships and one for an award for alumni who excel in qualifying as CAs.

Please note: JPEG photos of recipients are available on request.

SOURCE University of Windsor

For further information:

Lori Lewis
Manager, News Services
Public Affairs and Communications
519-253-3000 ext. 3241


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.