Catholic School Trustees Honour Service, Elect New Leaders

TORONTO, May 5 /CNW/ - Over 200 members of the Ontario Catholic School Trustees' Association (OCSTA) gathered last week in Toronto to acknowledge and honour the publicly elected men and women who dedicate their time and effort to addressing the needs of students and families in Catholic schools.  The 81st Annual General Meeting and Conference for the OCSTA membership provided an opportunity for trustees to elect new OCSTA Regional representatives, enhance their skills and recognize peer excellence.

OCSTA Regional Directors - Election Results:


Region 1: Colleen Landers, Northeastern Catholic District School Board
Region 2: Paul Landry, Kenora Catholic District School Board
Region 5: Linda Ward, St. Clair Catholic District School Board
Region 9: Karen Valentine, Durham Catholic District School Board
Region 10: Andrew Bray, Renfrew County Catholic District School Board
Region 11: Kathy Burtnik, Niagara Catholic District School Board, Arlene Iantomasi, Halton Catholic District School Board


Region 3 (at large): Anne Marie Fitzgerald, The Northwest Catholic District School Board
Region 4:  Joyce Anderson, Waterloo Catholic District School Board

Trustee Award of Merit

Each year the Association selects a trustee who has demonstrated outstanding commitment and service to Catholic education to receive the OCSTA Trustee Award of Merit.  This year's recipient is Huron-Perth CDSB Trustee and former OCSTA President, Bernard Murray.

Bernard has served as a trustee for 26-years and was recognized locally for his volunteerism, parish involvement and devotion to Catholic education. He was also recognized for his strong leadership during his term as OCSTA president, 2006-2008.

Special Award

OCSTA also acknowledges the commitment and contribution of individuals other than trustees who have provided outstanding leadership and support to strengthen Catholic education in this province.  This year this "Special Award" was presented to His Grace, Thomas Collins, Archbishop of Toronto and President of the Assembly of Catholic Bishops of Ontario (ACBO).

Since taking the helm of the Archdiocese of Toronto and the ACBO, Archbishop Collins has provided strong and consistent support for Catholic schools and the work of OCSTA.  His Grace was recognized for his "compassionate manner and steadfast commitment to the Catholic education cause in Ontario."

25-Year Service Award

Many trustees dedicate a significant part of their lives to the service of their local schools and the goals of Catholic education in this province.  To honour that contribution the Association awarded the following trustees with 25-year service awards:

Wilf Garrah, Algonquin Lakeshore Catholic District School Board
Bernard Murray, Huron-Perth Catholic District School Board

The Ontario Catholic School Trustees' Association is the provincial voice for publicly funded Catholic education.  Founded in 1930, OCSTA represents the interests of Catholic school boards that collectively educate more than 600,000 students in Ontario, from Junior Kindergarten to Grade 12.

/NOTE TO PHOTO EDITORS: The photo accompanying this release is also available at Images are free to accredited members of the media/

SOURCE Ontario Catholic School Trustees' Association

For further information:

Sharon McMillan, Coordinator, Communications and Media Relations
Tel: 416-932-9460, ext. 232, Fax: 416-932-9459   E-mail:

Profil de l'entreprise

Ontario Catholic School Trustees' Association

Renseignements sur cet organisme


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.