25 Throughout U.S. Given Carnegie Medal for Extraordinary Acts of Civilian Heroism



PITTSBURGH, Sept. 27, 2011 /CNW/ -- In its third award announcement of 2011, the Carnegie Hero Fund Commission today named 25 individuals as recipients of the Carnegie Medal. The medal is given throughout the United States and Canada to those who risk their lives to an extraordinary degree while saving or attempting to save the lives of others. Three of the awardees died in the performance of their heroic acts.

The heroes announced today bring to 65 the number of awards made to date in 2011 and to 9,477 the total number of awards since the Pittsburgh-based Fund's inception in 1904. Commission President Mark Laskow stated that each of the awardees or their next of kin will also receive a financial grant. Throughout the 107 years since the Fund was established by industrialist-philanthropist Andrew Carnegie, $33.7 million has been given in one-time grants, scholarship aid, death benefits, and continuing assistance. The latest awardees are:

    Joseph A. Buttaccio, Jr.               Lyons, N.Y.
    Anna Buttaccio                         Lyons, N.Y.
    Steven J. Keller                       Covington, La.
    Christian Timmins                      Covington, La.
    Nathan N. Smith, deceased              Citrus Heights, Calif.
    Jeffrey Lloyd Breuer                   Eden Prairie, Minn.
    Sean T. O'Connell                      Mandeville, La.
    Connelly Phelps Parker, Jr.            North Myrtle Beach, S.C.
    Megan Elizabeth Allen                  Raleigh, N.C.
    Dionysios Agelatos, deceased           Albany, Ga.
    Steve Fenton                           Keansburg, N.J.
    Michael T. Chura                       Baldwinsville, N.Y.
    Rickie D. McDowell, Jr.                Lincoln Park, Mich.
    Kevin Moss                             Southgate, Mich.
    Roland Monte Blake, Jr.                Shawnee, Okla.
    Robin Adair                            Port Orchard, Wash.
    William B. Jackson, Jr., deceased      Hendersonville, N.C.
    Timothy Lee Rostar                     Alanson, Mich.
    Matthew Charles Logan                  Moscow, Idaho
    Kevin Joseph Barbee                    Lewiston, Idaho
    Donald L. Galloway                     Genesee, Idaho
    Cameron C. Gilbert                     Cool, Calif.
    Allyson Powell                         North Dighton, Mass.
    Robert Hugh Flanagan                   Denver, Colo.
    George J. Flanagan                     Swansea, Mass.


Resumes of the acts can be found at http://carnegiehero.org/awardees_recent.php. Fuller information on the Carnegie Medal and the history of the Carnegie Hero Fund Commission can be found at www.carnegiehero.org.


    Contact:  Douglas R. ChambersToll free:  1-800-447-8900


SOURCE Carnegie Hero Fund Commission

For further information: Web Site: http://www.carnegiehero.org

Profil de l'entreprise

Carnegie Hero Fund Commission

Renseignements sur cet organisme


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.