20 Throughout U.S., Canada to Receive Carnegie Medal for Extraordinary Acts of Civilian Heroism



PITTSBURGH, April 7, 2011 /CNW/ -- In its first award announcement of 2011, the Carnegie Hero Fund Commission today named 20 individuals from throughout the United States and Canada as recipients of the Carnegie Medal. The medal is given to those who risk their lives to an extraordinary degree while saving or attempting to save the lives of others.

The heroes announced today bring to 9,432 the total number of awards since the Pittsburgh-based Fund's inception in 1904. Commission President Mark Laskow stated that each of the awardees or their next of kin will also receive a financial grant. Throughout the 107 years since the Fund was established by industrialist-philanthropist Andrew Carnegie, $33.1 million has been given in one-time grants, scholarship aid, death benefits, and continuing assistance.

One of the awards is being made posthumously. Carmen F. DeGregorio, Jr., of Millville, N.J., died two days after rescuing a woman from an assault in Millville. DeGregorio kept the assailant from abducting the woman by car but then was struck down by the car as he and the woman fled. The latest awardees are:

    Michael S. Hatfield                     Richland, Wash.
    Scott J. Oak                            Tacoma, Wash.
    Joseph W. Hughart                       Fort Gibson, Okla.
    Lauren Winstead                         Collierville, Tenn.
    Kenneth M. Goss                         Grand Junction, Colo.
    Robert T. Schmidt                       Eden Prairie, Minn.
    Paul A. Ansolabehere                    Minnetonka, Minn.
    Ryan P. Van Wave                        Saint Charles, Mo.
    Jason Mitchell Norman                   North Wilkesboro, N.C.
    Carmen F. DeGregorio, Jr., deceased     Millville, N.J.
    Michael L. Noriega                      Manhattan Beach, Calif.
    John David Pearce                       Fort Erie, Ont.
    Timothy McCarthy                        Overland Park, Kan.
    Orville D. Clinton                      Salina, Kan.
    Jay S. Huscher                          Salina, Kan.
    Troy Allen Reinert                      Salina, Kan.
    David L. Braga                          Modesto, Calif.
    Roger Randolph Lang                     Corona, Calif.
    Theophilus I. Joseph                    San Bernardino, Calif.
    Carlos S. Valles                        Sparks, Nev.


Resumes of the acts can be found at http://www.carnegiehero.org/awardees_recent.php. Fuller information on the Carnegie Medal and the history of the Carnegie Hero Fund Commission can be found at www.carnegiehero.org


    Contact:  Douglas R. Chambers
    Toll free:  1-800-447-8900


SOURCE Carnegie Hero Fund Commission

For further information: Web Site: http://www.carnegiehero.org

Profil de l'entreprise

Carnegie Hero Fund Commission

Renseignements sur cet organisme


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.