VisionTV launches Sci-Fi & Supernatural Tuesdays

    TORONTO, Jan. 12 /CNW/ - On Tuesday nights in 2009, VisionTV will journey
to the distant future and delve deep into otherworldly realms.
    Beginning on Tuesday, Jan. 27, Canada's multi-faith and multicultural
television network premieres two original new Canadian documentary anthology
series that will take viewers to worlds far beyond our own.
    The 17-part series I Prophesy: The Future Revealed, airing Tuesdays at 10
p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT, examines the predictions of present-day oracles.
Combining dramatizations, CGI sequences, and interviews with world renowned
scientists, authors and intellectuals, the I Prophesy documentaries consider
the possible futures that may await us: from a world in which physical sex no
longer exists and humans live for a thousand years, to doomsday scenarios in
which our civilization is erased by asteroid collisions or epic floods.
    The I Prophesy documentaries were produced for VisionTV by Arcadia
Entertainment Inc., Henry Less Productions and Partners in Motion Inc.
    Supernatural Investigator, airing Tuesdays at 10:30 p.m. ET / 7:30 p.m.
PT, takes a critical look at paranormal phenomena in an attempt to separate
fact from fiction. Each half-hour documentary follows an expert investigator
as he or she brings rigorous, real-life scrutiny to a search for the truth
behind so-called supernatural happenings. Canada's foremost science fiction
writer, Hugo Award winner Robert J. Sawyer, hosts the 17-part series.
    The Supernatural Investigator documentaries were produced for VisionTV by
Arcadia Entertainment Inc., Elevator Films, Ocean Entertainment Ltd.,
Paradocs, Riddle Films Inc. and Sorcery Films Ltd.
    VisionTV's Tuesday night lineup also features the science fiction drama
series Quantum Leap (9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT) and Poltergeist: The Legacy
(weeknights at 11 p.m. ET / 8 p.m. PT).

    Premiere Episodes:

    I Prophesy: The Future Revealed
    Premieres Tuesday, Jan. 27, 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT

    "Dude, Where's My Flying Car?" - Over the past century, science fiction
authors have often proved uncannily accurate in their predictions. Can today's
generation of SF writers offer useful clues about the shape of tomorrow? In
this premiere episode, Hugo Award-winning Canadian science fiction novelist
Robert J. Sawyer (Hominids) ponders which of our contemporary fantasies may
end up as reality. Will robots do our household cooking and cleaning? Will
humanity colonize other worlds? And, most important: will we finally get
flying cars? Produced by Arcadia Entertainment Inc.

    Supernatural Investigator
    Premieres Tuesday, Jan. 27, 10:30 p.m. ET / 7:30 p.m. PT

    "The Antichrist" - Does the Antichrist walk among us? Are we nearing the
End of Days? Surprisingly, belief in the Biblical prophecies of an Antichrist
remain alive and well in the 21st century. In this episode, Halifax-based
paranormal filmmaker Michael MacDonald searches high and low for the world's
most notorious villain. Produced by Ocean Entertainment Ltd.

    Joan Jenkinson is the VisionTV Executive Producer and concept creator for
both series.
    For more information on VisionTV programming, please visit

For further information:

For further information: Media Contact: David Todd, Media Relations
Manager, VisionTV, Phone: (416) 368-3194, ext. 207, Email:

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890