Vale: Public Offering of Equity



    RIO DE JANEIRO, Brazil, June 10 /CNW/ -- Companhia Vale do Rio Doce
(Vale) hereby discloses that its senior management approved on May 26, 2008
and will submit to the Board of Directors a proposal of a public offering of
common shares and preferred class A shares, with a maximum value of US$ 15
billion, including the offering and any exercise of the underwriters'
over-allotment option.
    The implementation of the offering is subject to the approval of Vale's
Board of Directors and of the Brazilian regulator, Comissao de Valores
Mobiliarios - CVM, and to conditions prevailing in global capital markets. If
and when the offering is confirmed, Vale will disclose at the appropriate time
information concerning its characteristics.
    If the offering is completed, the net proceeds will be used for general
corporate purposes, which include the financing of its organic growth program
based on an investment plan of US$ 59 billion, strategic acquisitions and
increased financial flexibility.
    Furthermore, Vale reports that, currently, it is not negotiating any
strategic acquisition.
    
    This announcement does not constitute an offer of any securities for sale.
    Rio Doce
    




For further information:

For further information: Roberto Castello Branco,
roberto.castello.branco@vale.com, or Alessandra Gadelha,
alessandra.gadelha@vale.com, or Patricia Calazans, patricia.calazans@vale.com,
or Theo Penedo, theo.penedo@vale.com, or Marcus Thieme,
marcus.thieme@vale.com, or Tacio Neto, tacio.neto@vale.com, all of Vale,
+011-55-21-3814-4540 Web Site: http://www.cvrd.com.br  http://www.vale.com

Organization Profile

COMPANHIA VALE DO RIO DOCE

More on this organization


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890